We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Park n Fly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #114 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor Park n Fly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The only reason I picked this motel was for the convenience of having the Park n Fly just a few miles from the airport.

Frat, the parn n ride is not "free", your room rate is about $20 more than without it. But still, it saves money compared to a paid parking lot.

The park and fly parking is out back behind the motel. it's not secured or protected in any way. basically you are just parking in the street. And this is not the best neighborhood in Phoenix. I was concerned for the safety of my car, but there were no problems.

The shuttle service to/from the airport was prompt and professional.

The parking parking lot of the motel itself is very poorly designed. There is only one entrance, and there is no easy way to exit the place. You have to go to the end of the parking row and hope there is an empty space so you can turn around.

The room itself was just OK. It was a very strange room, almost like they knocked down the wall between two small rooms to try to make one large room. It doesn't work. The small room has a very awkward couch, glass table refrig and microwave. The rooms were painted a weird sort of orange/tan/olive color, Painted over the rough stucco walls, it was ugggggg-ly.

The front desk clerk was very helpful answering questions for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, General Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank for your feedback. We will take all your suggestions into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    33
    26
    37
See reviews for
47
32
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The AC unit was too loud. I had to turned off to get a good sleep. Location was very good. I picked this hotel because of the price, location and transport service to the airport. Normal continental breakfast. Overall, I would rate it an OK service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
WE apologize for the a/c unit. and we would like to thank you for staying with us during your travels. We hope to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wouldn't stay here by myself, with my family it was a total disaster. The A/C didn't work. The general condition of the room was horrible. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
All of our rooms have been remodeled within the past month and a half and we can assure you all a/c units are in working order. We apologize for any inconvienence you may have had. Thank you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We picked it because it had a 24 hour airport shuttle and we were arriving from Hawaii at midnight on our way home in Denver. We arrived and were told we'd have to wait until 1 am for the next shuttle. A $20 cab ride later we hauled 2 heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find the sink didn't drain so we couldn't brush our teeth unless we spit in the toilet. The air conditioner worked well though. For $8 more we stayed at a beautiful hotel near the airport on the trip out to Maui. Judging by this sign in the room, they must have a lot of theft. You can buy the 20 year old tube tv for $700! Don't stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
First and foremost we apologize for the delay of the shuttle it should have only taken 15 minutes at most to pick anyone up at the airport. Also we apologize for the inconvienence of having to go up one flight of stairs with heavy luggage we understand our guests are tired and we would have obliged a request for a room downstairs if asked. Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken measure to ensure all sink drains are in working order. We Thank You for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

i got the cheapest advertised room they had for a one nighter. bedroom smaller than my home bathroom. noisy a/c. however.......bed was nicley appointed and comfy, bathroom dated but very clean. parking area was tight, hard to manuever a large suv. very aeasy to find from airport, and when i called them after arrival to ask for directions to their place. the receptionist offered to drive to the airport so i could follow her to the motel!!! now that'd service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We would also like to apologize for all inconveniences you experienced. We have taken you feedback and have made changes and are currently having all our a/c units inspected. Again thank you for business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Address: 4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.