We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #117 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The AC unit was too loud. I had to turned off to get a good sleep. Location was very good. I picked this hotel because of the price, location and transport service to the airport. Normal continental breakfast. Overall, I would rate it an OK service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
WE apologize for the a/c unit. and we would like to thank you for staying with us during your travels. We hope to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    48
    43
    53
See reviews for
66
44
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Show Low
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wouldn't stay here by myself, with my family it was a total disaster. The A/C didn't work. The general condition of the room was horrible. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
All of our rooms have been remodeled within the past month and a half and we can assure you all a/c units are in working order. We apologize for any inconvienence you may have had. Thank you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We picked it because it had a 24 hour airport shuttle and we were arriving from Hawaii at midnight on our way home in Denver. We arrived and were told we'd have to wait until 1 am for the next shuttle. A $20 cab ride later we hauled 2 heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find the sink didn't drain so we couldn't brush our teeth unless we spit in the toilet. The air conditioner worked well though. For $8 more we stayed at a beautiful hotel near the airport on the trip out to Maui. Judging by this sign in the room, they must have a lot of theft. You can buy the 20 year old tube tv for $700! Don't stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
First and foremost we apologize for the delay of the shuttle it should have only taken 15 minutes at most to pick anyone up at the airport. Also we apologize for the inconvienence of having to go up one flight of stairs with heavy luggage we understand our guests are tired and we would have obliged a request for a room downstairs if asked. Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken measure to ensure all sink drains are in working order. We Thank You for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

i got the cheapest advertised room they had for a one nighter. bedroom smaller than my home bathroom. noisy a/c. however.......bed was nicley appointed and comfy, bathroom dated but very clean. parking area was tight, hard to manuever a large suv. very aeasy to find from airport, and when i called them after arrival to ask for directions to their place. the receptionist offered to drive to the airport so i could follow her to the motel!!! now that'd service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We would also like to apologize for all inconveniences you experienced. We have taken you feedback and have made changes and are currently having all our a/c units inspected. Again thank you for business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Comforter had not been washed (white crusty stuff on it). Air conditioner didn't work correctly. Flushing toilet let off this very strong chlorine smell. Enough to make you sick. Filthy place. Shuttle only good thing. Kitchen looked fairly clean. But the room was disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate your business and do apologize about any and all inconveniences. The housekeeping staff have been advised of your feedback and have improved on washin and checking of all bedding going into our rooms. The chlorine smell Is a tri-monthly treatment we do to all our toilets to ensure the upmost cleanliness possible although it does exudes a small ordor it does not over power again we apologize for the inconvenience. All of are rooms have been remoleded and recarpeted with in the last month thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Address: 4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.