We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money. Clean, neat, good service, friendly staff, good breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #118 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money. Clean, neat, good service, friendly staff, good breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I called the hotel from the airport info desk (I had to spend the night in Phoenix due to a bad flight connection), liked their rates and the free shuttle service they offered and decided to stay the night. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious, tasteful and equipped with all commodities. Everything was neat and clean. Checking in and out was easy, as was getting to and from the airport. The room was quiet, the bed comfortable and breakfast was more like a buffet and better than expected. All in all I was pleasantly surprised. Even when I contacted the hotel manager a few days later to request a copy of my receipt (which I had lost), the manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for coming to our hotel. Go hojo go happiness it s what we do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    48
    43
    53
See reviews for
66
44
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The convenience of the location, 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport, and place to park our car for a week made our trip much easier. We found the staff to be VERY helpful and had no problems with our room. The receptionists on Sunday night (2/10/13) and Wednesday morning (2/20/13) were especially helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojophoenix, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Go HOJO :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area

Address: 4120 E. Van Buren, Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Airport Downtown offers free 24 hour shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor International Airport, free 24h. shuttle to from Airport. which is less than a mile away, and is located three miles from downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale. For your pleasure, there is an outdoor pool with relaxing lounge area. Guests can enjoy a complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast from 4:00am until 9.00am. Our wonderful breakfast consists of "Make Your Own Waffles", 3 types of Kellogg Cereal, 2 types of Minute Maid Juices, fresh fruit, Maxwell House fresh coffee, & much more......The hotel Business Center has fax and copy capabilities as well as a computer and printer, and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The hotel offers ice and vending machines, free parking, free 1-800 calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Airport Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Hotel Phoenix
Ramada Motel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Phoenix Airport/Downtown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.