We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some tlc” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites) (Encanto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In need of some tlc”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night and it was adaquate, I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer than that.
The rooms were a bit shabby and tired looking, the bed was comfortable enough.
The front desk staff were lovely and very helpful, by far the best feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    136
    110
    46
    46
See reviews for
131
92
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a average Hotel in the Phoenix area and we will not stay their again..The interior is good but the rooms and conference rooms need to be upgraded..They say that all rooms have a refregator but they do not..Carperts need cleaning.Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Phoenix Place Hotel is best summed up as being middle of the road, with its good points being the location (close to CBD) and friendly staff. The free breakfast is rather average, but quite acceptable. Our suite was a reasonable size, but there was no wardrobe, only a stick on which to hang clothes. There was a chest of draws, but both draws were broken. The food was acceptable, except when the chef was away during the Columbus long weekend. We generally ate out evening meal at a nearby Italian restaurant (Alexi's Grill), which we can recommend. Overall, you get what you pay for and the Hotel is not too expensive and the public areas and bedrooms are well kept. We were disappointed that the roof pool was empty, particularly as the ground level pool was icy cold.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra to get a suite as the bedroom only rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Following is what I wrote to Erica Allen at the Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites regarding our special event:

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful ceremony we had on 10/12. Everything was fantastic! The food was great -- the service was excellent and the venue beautiful.

Thank you! Our guest feedback was that this was the best "wedding" they had ever attended.

Nancy P

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Bed is comfy. Free breakfast is limited and the same every day including tasteless scrambled eggs, toast, horrible potatoes, biscuits and gravy and sausages. Some fruit available. Staff had a hard time keeping things stocked or silverware available.

Staff is generally friendly, although not that helpful. Front desk did not tell us anything about the vicinity or let us know that transit was only one block away and would bring us right downtown. Instead, we would up paying about $25 for a taxi to take us downtown.

In our room, television picture wouldn't come on. In our room, fridge was really loud, neither phone worked and they couldn't fix them. They offered to switch our room but we were already unpacked and we didn't want to be further inconvenienced. Corridor leading to room had an unpleasant, stinky odor.

Housekeeping did not remove dirty glasses and provide fresh ones and did not tidy up the night tables.

At check-out, we were not asked about how our stay was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and have the ant bites to prove it! First, our phones did not work in the room. There are two, neither were operational. Second, while sitting on the couch in our suite, I felt a bite on my leg. Reactively I swat it and look to see my leg slowly becoming a hitching post for an ant colony! I pick up the phone to call only to remember, it's dead. I go to use the emergency phone and call the front desk. I'm met with a snarky attitude from a man who tells me his only solution is that we pack all our things and move to a different room. At midnight! I ask for bug spray and he tells me he doesn't have any. After confronting him face to face he tells me he will send up some bug spray. Looks like they have some now. Don't stay here. The staff doesn't care.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel looks good from the outside and even in the lobby. But that's where it ends. As soon as you get off the lift the hallways smells. The rooms are clean but tiny. The night we were there our next door neighbour had a party in there room, when we tried to call reception the phone didn't work. The shower is small and out dated. The beds are uncomfortable. The buffet breakfast was laughable. Got there and hardly had anything there. And what was had run out.
This hotel is ok for a night only. But not anymore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Address: 3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix City Phoenix
Radisson Phoenix
Phoenix Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.