We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Face and infrastructure badly need a remake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites) (Encanto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Face and infrastructure badly need a remake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We checked into 3 rooms about 7p on a week night: smooth.

Unfortunately, one of us wished to use a rest room, but there is no lobby rest room. After the second sketchy set of instructions, there was this outside passageway... She just waited.

The rooms weren't filthy. That said, they weren't clean.

The hotel entry is from a very dark (VERY dark) street, and coming from parking structure to hotel means going on that street.

The breakfast was good: much better than adequate. They even provided take-away coffee cups for an extra hit.

The upholstery on which we had to sit in the breakfast room was disgusting. Oh, my, was it hard to sit on a chair in clean clothing.

The price point was average for that city and area; not cheaper.

We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    134
    109
    46
    45
See reviews for
128
92
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had reservations for four nights...stayed one. The AC in the lobby was broken, making Nick checking in people VERY grumpy! The room was clean but small. The TV, fridge and free wi-fi didn't work in our room. We had two towels, requested more towels, NEVER got them. Breakfast is "free"...However the staff is too busy putting out their $0.00 receipts and pens for each table requesting tips instead of refilling the plates and food. The pool looks fun in the pictures but it is tiny and dirty. EVERY chair at the pool was ripped/broken. Not a great family friendly location either...felt like I had to have my guard up at all times. However the morning staff was polite and did let us check out early.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

First impressions on walking through the door.....nice
2nd impression on getting to the room ......dismal. And that's putting it politely.
This place is made to look nicer (somehow) in the photographs, the receptionist is abrupt, the lift takes forever, the corridors are dark, the rooms (2nd floor) are dingy, and could do with a serious lick of paint & new bed linen.
The plumbing is an issue, we had to change rooms as twice the sink filled up dirty waste water. Apparently the room was connected with next door plumbing ( don't even go there) the only decent thing was the Plummer who was very apologetic
The breakfast room is a joke.. Totally disorganised, & miserably staff. coffee on the bar, tea somewhere else, one 2 slot toaster for the whole hotel, the bread, & pastries wedged on a small shelf. But the best thing of all the "waiter" presents you with a slip every morning to sign & give a tip....I'll give you a tip.......Stay somewhere else

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than 15 years through a few different names. This version is by far the best. Rooms are very clean and comfy. The front desk staff are excellent. Always accomadate any changes in my travels...always look after me very well. Restaurant is very good.. Free Breakfast is good. Bar is great as well. Workout room has everything you need and is very clean and equipment in good shape. I highly recommend this property. It's the only place I stay when I travel here 4-5 times a year.

Room Tip: away fro the elevator is quieter...but all rooms are nice and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is very close to St. Joseph’s Hospital Medical Center, making it especially convenient for times when we have multiple doctor’s appointments and procedures at St. Joseph’s. It is also not far from Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center. The hotel offers a “hospital rate” that is extremely reasonable for a hotel of this quality and it includes a hot breakfast!

The staff at this hotel is the GREATEST!! Nick and Kallee at the front desk have been extremely helpful every time we have been there. They provided everything from extra pillows to where the best local food is. There have been times when we have had to make multiple changes to our reservations. They are always handled professionally and courteously. The last time we stayed there, we had to make a last minute change and requested a late check-out. This was no problem at all for them.

We require an ADA room at all times and the Phoenix Place has been able to accommodate us with no trouble at all! The room is spacious and equipped with a microwave and refrigerator. (The one time we did not have a refrigerator, we called to the front desk and they had one delivered to the room!)

The housekeeping staff has been exceptional in taking care of us. They are respectful of our privacy as regards to cleaning the room. With our various appointments at the hospital, they have been quite accommodating about cleaning our room on our schedule, not theirs. And always with a smile.

The breakfast buffet is included in the rate. It includes hot foods (eggs, sausages, etc.) as well as fresh fruit and juices. There are also cereals, toast, bagels, muffins and Danish.
The staff in the restaurant keeps the coffee flowing and the tables clean.

The hotel also offers free internet access, has a great pool and patio area. The most special amenity this hotel has to offer is its’ staff. They are the best! They always greet us with a smile.

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the last year. The hotel keeps getting better and better. When we first came, there was some renovation going on. Now the Phoenix Place is looking better and better.

Room Tip: This hotel is able to accommodate requests for non-smoking ADA rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our experience with this hotel was amazing! Rochelle Samms was very responsive to all requests, before, during and after our event with them. The rooms over all were very comfortable, we had a few team members who had trouble with the sleep number beds but they were adjusted once brought to the attention of the front desk or Rochelle. The Meeting Rooms were arranged as we requested and meals were served on time. Presentation of all food and rooms was flawless. They worked around us flawlessly when serving food and clearing plates as we were working through lunch. It was tremendous value for our investment and we would definitely recommend it for anyone else looking to accommodate a group of just over 20 people. There are restaurants within walking distance near the hotel, if you are looking for a little more variety than what is served in the restaurant at the hotel. Rochelle made it so easy to arrange, confirm and host our event. She was very prompt in addressing questions we had as it related to the process prior to signing a final contract. Everyone at the hotel was more than willing to help us with whatever concern we had during our stay. We would definitely look at have a future event at this venue.

Room Tip: Some of their rooms have "Sleep No. Beds" we were on the Cabana level and it is a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

With promises of a semi-private pool, we were sorely disappointed to find it empty on a less than inviting concrete rooftop. The "superior bedding" consisted of cheap cotton sheets, and the sleep number bed, nonexistent. That said, situated in the city center, close to the light rail, still a deal. Just not the "steal" we were lead to believe it would be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Address: 3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix City Phoenix
Radisson Phoenix
Phoenix Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.