We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay turns into a 30 day nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites) (Encanto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Show Low, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stay turns into a 30 day nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked a room for one night based on proximity to my intended destination the next day. Air freshner in room was so heavy I spent most of what was left of my late arrival evening in the lobby. Sleep number bed didn't work, TV flickers in and out constantly, carpets were filthy, elevators smell (can't identify the odor) and parking is down a dark alley like street in an unlit garage.

The best part of my experience was the surprise $150 charge that appeared 3 days later for smoking in a room that was already so full of aerosol a spark woud have lit the place up. Attempting to address this problem - I spoke with some manager that was unable or unwilling to actually tell me who owns the hotel. It is no longer a Raddison which is not widely known and apparently no one wants to share that bit of information freely. A couple on the same hallway as mine had their room changed due to the smoke smell but apparently their next room wasn't any better. The manager dude informed me that this was not much of a test group and since he already had the room "resprayed" I was stuck with the charge. Holiday Inn Express is next door - it's new and all things work and you won't have to travel the alleyways in the dark.

Room Tip: If the room smell chokes you like cheap perform - run
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    134
    109
    46
    45
See reviews for
129
92
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This seems to be an older hotel but it was well taken care of.
Our suite was very spacious and very clean.

The staff was great and very accommodating.
Free guest parking and free (albeit slow) wifi.

The free breakfast was very generous with eggs, bacon, lots of fresh fruit, toast bagels, pastry, cereal, potatoes.

Room Tip: We got a room off of the cabana pool, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First off the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

When you arrive I would recommend that you initially park your car at the front entrance as the parking garage is next to the hotel and is not physically connected so you have to walk down the driveway and then over to the hotel entrance. If they have an event running and they did on two of the five days I was there you may have to park up a level.

The room was comfortable and they have select comfort mattresses but the led indicator was partially burned out so you could not actually see what value you were setting the comfort level too. The bathroom has plenty of counter space, but the worlds smallest bar of soap. The storage available is not very liberal though, there was only 8 hangers in the closet and 2 drawers below the Television to store items. The Television did have a hi-def feed which does not always happen. The air conditioning unit did tend to rattle the room and you could also here the vibrations when other rooms units turned on and off. And the room tended to creak every once in a while. There was also a very comfortable chair to sit in.

The grounds were very nice as well, they had a beach volleyball area, a children's play area as well as a nice pool with cascading water. The gym room had two treadmills (both were out of order for the time I was there) as well as an elliptical unit and a life-cycle. As well as assorted weights.

Breakfast was also included and was the same every day. Items included bacon, sausage links, scrambled eggs, biscuits and home gravy. As well as juices, yogurt, toast and sweet rolls.

I would have given the place a higher rating if the room did not creak and vibrate as much as it did when the AC ran (as I am a light sleeper).

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the west side of the building overlooking the pool area for a few reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hall carpets were worn and dingy. The desk swivel chair was broken and dipped to one side, almost to the floor, the nightstand and counters looked like they hadn't been cleaned well, but maybe they were just stained. Also, the parking structure felt sketchy. Nothing happened to either me or my car, but the whole place felt a little creepy. The previous night I stayed at a Best Western, which was much nicer and about $10 less expensive. I only switched hotels because the Best Western had only the one night available. When I checked out, the front desk clerk asked me how my room was. I told him it was a bit dilapidated. He said the hotel was due for some renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip recently. . . My room was good. Average hotel room nothing fancy and that was what I expected. It was cleaned which the most important thing. They have a great outdoor area in the back. It was huge! Almost like a resort feeling. Beach Volleyball court, kid's playground, pool with 2 waterfalls, and gorgeous green grass area. Just wished they turned on the waterfall in the pool area each door and had better lounge chairs. I used their fitness center and was disappointed that both of their treadmills were down the whole time I was there. The complimentary breakfast was great! I loved the fresh fruit! The restaurant chairs were dirty though. The whole time I was there I think every chair I sat on had a stain. The hotel restaurant has really good food though. It's only open for breakfast and dinner. It is one of the best hotel food I have had. The severs and bartenders are great at making sure you're taken care of! Overall it was a good place to stay. I would definitely come back the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stay 2-3 times a month at this hotel
. Mr McCallum at the front desk is always welcoming and all staff are curious and friendly. Property is also great for families, restaurant, pool, playground, and beautiful land scape.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Room was very clean, but when we arrived there was a carpet cleaner sprawled out in front of the elevator doors on our floor and we had to move it out of the way to get by (no employees in site that were using it). We were also using all public transportation so had to walk to light rail and hotel is across the street from an adult store so it was sketchy walking by there after dark. Very disappointed in choice of local restaurants. Alexis & Durants were by far the best. If you are looking for something to do, you need to go into Scottsdale. Most buildings, stores & restaurants are empty in mid & down town Phoenix. Hotel staff was not very knowledgable about surrounding restaurants and or activities. The pool on the ground level did not have the water feature on and made the area seem run down. The roof top pool was not what was expected of a roof top pool...it smelled and was dirty as if there had just been a Party up there and was not cleaned up after. Seemed very run down. Included breakfast was ok, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage, potatoes, toast, cereal, Danishes. It was edable but not great. I'm personally coming back to the area again in a few weeks and will find somewhere else to stay....Hilton Suites or Hilton Garden Inn were both highly recommended by local business professionals.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown

Address: 3600 N. Second Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Phoenix Place Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix City Phoenix
Radisson Phoenix
Phoenix Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.