We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 North 2nd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #59 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Walking distance to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hyatt adequately did its job. Nothing was over the top, but everything was there and nothing was missing.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pillows were nice - I got a good night sleep. The room had both a fridge and a safe. I dont watch much tv in hotels, but there was a flatscreen there as well.

The bathroom was tiny, but everything was there and they did the best with the space they had. The bath/shower was nicely tiled and the fixtures were nicer then average - again, also clean.

We valet parked to avoid hassle. There was a large pay garage next door, but you would need to schlep your belongings over. The valet was steep, but we had a lot to carry. They were very fast retrieving the car also.

Networks bar and grill in the foyer was well laid out and had a good atmosphere. They have a patio that would be great when it is warmer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    224
    106
    44
    24
See reviews for
52
79
41
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in Phoenix for the North American Bridge Championships. The hotel lobbies and bathrooms were not acceptable for a large group of people. There were numerous line ups, bathrooms were stinky and often full of garbage. Staff was trying but it wasn't enough. We were very glad that we were staying and also playing at the Sheraton.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel once a year for the last 5 years. It is now looking rundown and dark. Rooms have popcorn ceilings and carpet has spots on it. I am a hyatt platinum gold passport member and the room I was given smelled smokey and carpet was dirty. I called down to the front desk and asked for a different room. We changed rooms and the next room was a little better. No one from the front desk ever called and asked if I was satisfied. Nobody cares.

Room Tip: This hotel probably needs renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This Hyatt is close to the main downtown Phoenix venues and Arizona State University downtown campus. The revolving restaurant on the 24th floor offers delicious food, friendly service and spectacular views. But the views don't stop there. The glass elevators and upper level rooms also have great city and mountain views. The room was comfortable and included slippers, robe, refrigerator and coffee maker. The pool and outdoor grounds are well kept and spacious. The pool was warm enough for swimming in November. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, which is what I always experience with Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good location, downtown Phoenix, close to all the sporting venues and theaters. Great staff, quick check in, valet parking service was great, everyone was very helpfull. the rooms were clean and comfortable, and once again the Hyatt beds were great! Good AC systems, kept the room at a comfortable temp. the bathroom, was a bit dated, old style shower. Some great views, if you get one of the higher floors. Not too many shops located downtown, mostly entertainment and food. Lobby at the Hyatt was well planned, lots of elevators, so no waiting, even if the hotel is busy. Good pub on the main level, great food, had a few good evenings in the pub.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have not stayed at a Hyatt in a while. What I can tell you is that the management at this property must have their act together because the staff was truly amazing. They were not only friendly, helpful and concerned but actually genuine which starts your stay off well regardless of the room. From the parking attendants to the housekeepers I was surprised. Now, the rooms are great the beds comfortable and in good shape. Views are nice, for working people there is a nice workspace with plenty of plugs to charge up. Great flat screen with adjustable stand. Bathroom is standard but nice. Products are a bit above typical. If you were here for a baseball game or local art this is a nice place to start. Don't let the outside of this property fool you, it looks a bit dated but the property is quite nice inside. Great location too...BTW... Hyatt does not get rid of your travel points...Hilton does..so one more reason to stay at Hyatt.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors...I was on the 15th floor...nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Good location downtown Phoenix, but not my favorite hotel. Staff is helpful and friendly, valet parking a some restaurants. My room 1630 had a good view of the city. But Hyatt in Phoenix is far away from being a four star hotel. I am sure it used to be a fabulous hotel 20 years ago. According to my standards the hotel is more a 3 star hotel, the room and surroundings are a bit to old fashioned and the room need to be modernized. Old fashioned bathroom etc. and WIFI is not complimentary. I guess I could stay her during my next visit but I think I will try a different hotel just to compare price and value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Phoenix. I was disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are currently going through extensive renovations and hope that you will return in the future to see the upgrades. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Address: 122 North 2nd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.