We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in downtown Phoenix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Phoenix to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 North 2nd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #57 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel in downtown Phoenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is located next to the sporting venues and the conference center, along with several bars and restaurants. A solid hotel with typical comfort and quality expected of Hyatt. We had a room looking west and got uncomfortably hot in the afternoon with the sun. We asked for a high floor room with a view, but ended up with a view of buildings instead. Didn't notice a problem with the elevator as some reviewers mentioned. Einstein bagels in the lobby offers free WIFI.

We looked for a Thai place and found several within a couple of blocks from the hotel and found a place with pretty decent food. We also found out about an outstanding breakfast place about 10 minutes away on foot - called Matt's. Definitely worth the walk and the wait. Very very good breakfast.

The parking is in a garage next door and costs $12 per 24 hours. You can get a coupon from the hotel for $19 which allows unlimited entry/exit. I guess it is to be expected from a downtown business hotel.

The hotel is very close to the airport as well.

Room Tip: East facing (front of the building) high floor for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    280
    139
    52
    30
See reviews for
65
104
48
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel last week while attending a meeting. The hotel is an a great location. You can walk to many restaurants, bars, clubs, baseball and basketball stadiums. The rooms were large and the staff was friendly. I enjoyed the city view from the revolving restaurant on the 24th floor. If you are on business in Phoenix this hotel will meet your needs.

Room Tip: Full service hotel which means you pay for everything a la carte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine for what I needed- Ia reasonable place close to the convention center just for me. If I were here with my kids, I'd choose somewhere else mainly because the pool is tiny, in this if all cities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice, solid business traveler hotel. Renovated rooms, nice lobby, and decent restaurant/bar in lobby. This place is predictable and reliable. It's not hip. It's not new. Its not particularly memorable. But it has hit middle age respectively. The location is fantastic - across from the convention center, near sports arenas and ASU. Free wifi is a plus.

Room Tip: Not about room, but wander over to Arizona Central for dinner and a stroll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent our 1 year anniversary at the compass room for dinner. Food was amazing and the service was the best. Our wonderful waitress, Jerry, made our night amazing! We would highly recommend the compass room as well as Jerry to everyone of our friends. We have already planned our anniversary dinners for years to come as long as Jerry is there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyPhoenix, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Phoenix, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding Jerry one of our long time associates in the Compass Restaurant. We will be sure to pass along your comments to Jerry and hope we see you again in the Compass Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really had a perfect stay, no issues. Used the online check in and check out, no wait. Knew my room number before I left Seattle. Every member of the staff was friendly. Would stay here again.was in Phoenix for a conference and did nit hear any negative comments from other guests

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel, the view appears a little better, also go high to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business. Pros: Same awesome Hyatt bed that you'll get everywhere else. A/C was a champ (which it should be for the desert!). Convenient to the Light Rail (a few blocks away, very reasonable). Lobby is wide open and a well designed space. Einstein Bagels in the lobby made breakfast on the go very convenient. Front of the house staff is very polite.

Cons: My room key initially didn't work. It happens, but it was annoying to have to trek back down to the lobby after a x-country flight. Beyond the lobby, the decor and the rooms are a bit dated. Not tired, just dated. Noticed variations in the ceiling of my room (strange, perfectly square sections that were obviously recently replaced). Personal quirk, but I'm not a fan of popcorn ceilings :) The room layout was a bit awkward - after entering, the bathroom is immediately on one side, then you have to navigate a strange little L bend to get into the room. Again, not terrible, just a bit inconvenient and a strange layout. Shower took a bit to warm up, but I was on the 21st floor, so I chalked it up to long distances. Thin walls meant that I heard every word of the conference call the gentleman next door decided to have on speakerphone.

What I didn't like was that there wasn't a proper fitted sheet for the bed - just another top sheet on the bottom. It was particularly annoying to wake up in the middle of the night with the sheets all but pulled out of the mattress and bundled up around my ankles. I typically do a room refresh every other day when I'm staying in a hotel, but my room was not serviced at all during my stay, even with the Privacy sign pulled back inside. First time that's happened to me at a Hyatt and was a bit disappointing.

Walkable to the US Airways Center and Chase Field, as well as the Convention Center and the surrounding restaurants. A decent stay, but not sure I would choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phoenix

Address: 122 North 2nd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#32 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate destination for business or pleasure in the city's dynamic downtown area. A towering 8-story atrium provides an inspiring atmosphere perfect for events of all types and sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.