We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place as long as air conditioner works.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 W Osborn, Phoenix, AZ 85013   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Benson, AZ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great place as long as air conditioner works.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stay here for most of my phx business trips. Quiet, comfortable rooms. Good nearby amnenties. Almost always have an issue with room ac. As soon as u get into room, check ac, and if it doesn't work, change rooms. Beds are great, pillows are adequate, wifi good. Tv & cable ok but confusing. Other furniture good. Bathroom good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Bryan,

Thank you for taking your time to tell everyone about your stay at the Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North. Everyone try's very hard to make everyone's stay as good as yours. This summer was a difficult one for our air conditioning system. We had several parts of it fail at different times. I HOPE that everything is now repaired and you will not have the same problem on your next visit. I hope you will stop by and say hello on your next visit.

Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    36
    28
    24
See reviews for
23
31
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was terrible. It felt unsafe and unpleasant the moment I entered. There was a nasty odor and the rooms were so small you could barely turn around, plus it was not clean. The front desk staff was very nice, but they have a bad product to work with.

The man in the restaurant yelled at me when I asked for something. I was stunned.

One of the worst stays I have had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Wheelwatcher,

I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel is an older hotel but most people think our rooms are above average size. Our housekeeping staff works very hard on keeping our rooms very clean. I am also sorry you did not feel safe. This hotel is located in a very safe area but Phoenix is a big town with many unique people.

I am sorry that you will not be returning to the Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown, but I hope you will continue to use Holiday Inns on the rest of your travels.

Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great service, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean room and bathroom. Comfortable bed. I highly recommend this location, convenient and easy to find. I come to Phoenix often and plan on staying here stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear iamarollingstone,

Thank you for the kind words. Every employee does their best to make every visit for everyone just as wonderful as yours was. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the entire staff. I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North.

Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Manny went out of his way at the front desk and had fixed complications with the cleaning staff and was very helpful. The hotel is modern and nice for the price. Breakfast buffet in the mornings were nice. Probably one of the nicer hotels in the area, what surrounds the property is junky adult stores etc. Inside its a nice safe place.

Room Tip: City view rooms have a great view vs. mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Alec,

Thank you for the kind comments. Manny is a very valuable employee and I will be sure to pass on to him your comments. I am very proud of all of our staff. The entire staff works their hardest to maintain the hotel so every guest can have a great stay. I look forward to meeting you the next time you come to Phoenix.

Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I came to this hotel this past week for a business meeting. The individual at the front desk was extremely welcoming - shout out to Manny.

It was 107 degrees outside and felt about the same in the lobby. Manny said it was because people kept coming and going. Unfortunately, my room was 85 degrees. Manny moved me to another room but that was still around 75/78 degrees. I was told that they have had problems with the air conditioning. But during my business meeting, I met an individual familiar with the hotel (past employee) who confirmed that it is always that hot. If that is true, then it is absolutely ridiculous. I shouldn't have to sweat when I am putting on my suit.

I would not stay at this hotel again. I can handle old but not room temperatures in the 80s.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Amy L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by our air conditioning systeml. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have a very mixed review of this place. I've stayed at this property a few times for it's location to the hospital. For awhile this property had been shut down toward the middle of 2012. Some say it was because there had been a fire and it did smoke damage. Then the property had grand re-opening, saying they had remodeled, but nothing had changed. The property had said their AC system was new, but it was still the same. During the hot Summer months in the Phoenix-Metro area, a working AC is a must. Despite cranking it down to it's lowest setting, the room didn't cool down. It felt muggy like how a evaporative cooler (aka "swamp cooler") feels. This hotel does not offer a free breakfast, as they have a restaurant and bar on site. Not that it means anything, but I'm Platinum member with their Priority Club reward program. I had stayed a couple nights at this property in April 2013.

I called the "Platinum Elite Reservation Line" on the back of my Platinum Priority Club Card. The reservation person said that since I'm a member of the Priority Club, and that I'm at the highest level, I would receive coupons at check in. One was for a free drink at their bar, and the others were for a free breakfast. Initially the only one that gave me the recognition was the hispanic man at check in. He gave me the coupons for my family and I. He said that I would have to stop by the front desk daily to get more each day. Bit of a hassle. He mentioned they have a exercise room, free WiFi. It would be nice if you could catch a WiFi signal on the upper floors, where they had put me. The tv channels were snowy, and I had called the front desk. They said maintenance would take a look at it, but no one ever came. The front desk eventually said the tv wasn't working, and I couldn't be moved because they were sold out. There's nothing to do in that immediate neighbourhood.

It's actually a very sketchy neighbourhood. The property sits on Osborn about 2nd Avenue. Right on that corner across the street to the property is a porn store. Lots of drug people, and people offering their services. While walking to the CVS (I believe it was) down the street, we were approached by some undesirable people trying to sell drugs. A unsafe feeling. The bar closes at random, depending on how busy (or lack there of) gets. One night I went to redeem my coupon, there was so many fruit flies buzzing around. What causes this is the equipment isn't clean. Even the bartender apologized for the flies crawling around on things, and buzzing around. He comp a few of my drinks, and some of the other patrons; because it was distracting, and gross. Elevator is the slowest one you'll ever be on. The fitness room is run down. Broken things in there, water cooler empty and broken. Out dated treadmills that shudder really bad when in use.

What I didn't like was the woman who worked the morning shift. Janice/Jan I think is her name. When we would eat breakfast, she kept eyeing us; as if we didn't belong there. One morning she finally came over and did question if we were indeed guest or not. She had someone watch us as so we wouldn't "run away" in case we weren't guest. She checked the computer to verify if I was a guest. She then told me that I was the only one allowed to have free breakfast, and no one else. I told her when the Hispanic man at check in asked me how many in my party, he smiled and gave us enough coupons for all of us. She said it was a mistake, and I would have to pay. All she kept saying was "I'm just going by the computer sir." She made a note in a red book citing that we were not allowed any more coupons, despite being told otherwise. When I saw the Hispanic man working during the evening hours, I brought it to his attention. Apparently this isn't the first complaint he's had about this Jan woman undermining procedure. He said she was wrong in doing so, and said many guest had complained about her. She did seem like she had no idea what she was doing. I had asked him if he was the manager, and he said he was not. Sounds like someone needs to retrain her, or just let her go. For these reasons, I regret to give this place a "Poor" rating. When I first stayed here last year, it seemed like a nice place.


One last thing. I had asked for a late check out, and was given a 1:00 p.m. check out, yet Jan had the housekeeping staff knock at the door at 11:00 a.m., and even had the nerve to call at 11:30 a.m. asking if I was leaving or not. I had said the Hispanic man who worked the evening shift made a note in that red book citing he'd given a late check out, and despite even calling the graveyard shift (a young white male) who reconfirmed a late check out; she claims there was "no note" and "late check outs are not permitted." She gave us until noon to leave, or be charge another night. For now, I will not be returning to this property. Service is lacking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We all try very hard to make every stay a perfect one, but sometime we miss the mark. This is a very well written letter and with many comments. I would like to speak with you directly regarding them. If you could call me at 602-595-4444 I can get more information from you.

Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall, I really was impressed by this hotel. Got a great rate via priceline (low season in Phoenix is a bargain). Front desk agent (Manny) was very friendly. I got a room on the ninth floor facing south (Osborne Rd side) and the views of downtown and the mountains were gorgeous from the floor to ceiling windows. Amazing really. Definitely request this side of the building if possible. My room had a very comfortable king size bed with ample room for a desk and armchair. Bathroom was a decent size and I loved having a mini-fridge (but no microwave) located under a little bar area which was a great convenience. There is also a breakfast buffet that looked good (although I didn't try it) for $8.50 which seems reasonable. Location of the hotel was fantastic as well. I elected not to rent a car (yes, it is possible in Phoenix depending on where you need to go) and the light rail stop is a 5 minute walk away (two blocks). There is a 24 hour Walgreens on that corner, plus a Safeway grocery store very nearby in the other direction on Osborne. Parking spaces (free) in front of the hotel are in short supply but I understand there is additional parking behind the hotel as well. The wifi didn't really work in my room on the corner of the building on the 9th floor (signal too weak) but it wasn't essential for me to use it. My major complaint is the extraordinarily thin doors and walls. I could hear absolutely everything in the hallway and the TV in the adjacent room very clearly. Fortunately, my neighbors didn't stay up late and I was able to sleep well, but if you had noisy people next door, you'd have a real problem. Unfortunately thin walls seem to be an epidemic at hotels these days and I wish this could be rectified, but at this point, it's not really feasible as it's a construction issue. So I would cautiously stay here again due to the location and amenities for a reasonable rate but definitely bring earplugs. If it were not for the walls, I'd rate this hotel even higher.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear JKNY329_10,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay at the hotel. I will be sure to let Manny know how you felt about him. He is a great asset to our organization. I am also glad that you enjoyed the view. And I hope you noticed we did not charge extra for it. I am checking on the WIFI in your area of the building to make sure it is working properly or if we need to do something to make it better. You are correct that there is nothing we can do about the construction of the building, but I am a little surprised because this is the first time I have heard this complaint.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to meeting you the next time you are in Phoenix
Fred Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North

Address: 212 W Osborn, Phoenix, AZ 85013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Hotel in Downtown Phoenix, AZ Conveniently located just a block from the light rail, the new Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North is in the middle of the city's shopping and financial districts. Our Phoenix, AZ hotel offers convenient access to attractions and businesses which include Reach 11 Sports Complex, Horse Lovers Park, Heard Museum, US Airways Center, Chase Field, St. Joseph's Hospital the State Capitol, Xerox, and U-Haul Int'l. The Phoenix Convention Center is located just three miles and the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport is within 9 miles from our smoke free hotel in Phoenix, both easily accessible by light rail. Our hotel offers a 24-hour business center and a meeting room for up to 30 guests as well as free high-speed Internet access. Lodging in our downtown Phoenix hotel offers our guests easy access to Phoenix's cultural attractions and multiple recreational activities. The University of Phoenix Stadium and Jobing.com arena are just minutes from our Phoenix hotel rooms. Our Phoenix accommodations offer an outdoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center for your use. Enjoy a delicious and satisfying meal at Morgan Tyler, our signature steakhouse, or visit the lobby for a cup of Starbucks coffee. Look again at the new Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, and discover a great Phoenix hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Phoenix Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.