We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value that exceeds expectations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 North 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value that exceeds expectations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites Airport North in Phoenix for 5 days while travelling on business. Overall I had a very pleasant experience and found the hotel exceeded expectations in many respects – in particular for a Holiday Inn property that charged a very reasonable daily rate.

The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and both (i) the main lobby/restaurant/bar area and (ii) the guest rooms have a modern sleekness to them that, again, was much nicer than expected. A minor detail to be sure, but the beaded curtain in the lobby that separates the bar area from the main lobby is nothing short of impressive. There is also a small Starbucks installation in the lobby which, from my perspective, could not have been better. A nod to the staff at the Starbucks who were particularly friendly throughout my stay. To the rear of the main lobby there is a small, functional business center. Only one computer could print, however, and the windows-based system offered only the barest of functionality. As an example, I needed to scan a document to PDF and this could not be done – not through the business center, nor through the hotel front desk. This was terribly inconvenient and just a little too 2005 frankly. Service upon check-in and at check-out, as well as overall, was very good and hotel staff were always polite and professional. One evening, when I asked the hotel’s reception to call me a taxi, they kindly offered up a free trip in their hotel shuttle which was appreciated.

Although I’m not positive, based on the layout of the hotel, I suspect that each of the rooms is in a fact a two-room suite. The suites themselves are modern, relatively well appointed and very clean. The main living room area included a sofa, decent sized flat-screen TV, a small kitchenette (with a bar fridge, sink, microwave and coffee maker) and a work space with a simple, but very functional, two-tier desk. The bedroom featured a king size bed, another flat-screen and in-room sink. The individual built-in reading lamps were a nice touch as well. The bathroom itself was very small but – and this is hugely important to me – it was IMMACULATE. Crisp white from corner to corner and top to bottom. This was, without a doubt, one of cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. That alone made this stay enjoyable. The view, however, from my 4th floor suite was bleak – overlooking a parking lot and the rear of the hotel.

Other than a quick sandwich at lunch on my first day, I did not dine in the hotel’s main restaurant although the separate breakfast restaurant offered a nice selection (including a breakfast buffet), a number of healthy options, efficient service and cheap prices. Every morning I was greeted politely by the waitstaff and was them promptly asked “Will you be using any coupons today?” Having never stayed at a Holiday Inn before I felt a little out of the loop – where do people get all these breakfast coupons and why didn’t I have any? This remains an unsolved mystery!

I used the fitness center on three or four occasions. It was fine. It is equipped with two elliptical machines and four treadmills – one of which did not work all week. There was also a work-out bench, some free weights, a yoga mat and an exercise ball. I usually had the place to myself other than on one morning. Not a big deal at all, but the TV in the gym should really have better reception and channel availability. I did not use the main pool/hot tub area although having walked by it several times per day, it looked very clean and well maintained. The outdoor lounging areas within the hotel’s courtyard are also a very nice touch.

Overall, this was a pleasant surprise in terms of both quality of stay and value proposition. Considering that this is an airport Holiday Inn, the size and quality of the suites, I really don’t think you could expect anything more. In fact, if they can get a scanner into their business center, I am quite likely to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
51
38
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Nice clean hotel with large suites that is very close to the Airport, it is not in the best part of town but is pretty close to almost anywhere, I believe I read on her this place used to be an Embassy Suites and that is what it looks like. Room is updated and everything functioned well. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was very nice. Everyone was friendly and helpful; I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be close to the airport. We were only here 3 nights and then went over to Scottsdale. But had not problems at all with this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of walking to get to your room so consider that when checking if you do not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is located very convenient to the airport, has a massive amount of room in each suite, and is very comfortable. The inner plaza was very nice and there were fire pits to sit around. What shocked me the most about the hotel was its affordable price. In my opinion it offered a better deal than any other hotel of its kind in Phoenix considering what it offered.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel rooms are done over very nicely and the hotel is in good condition. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the food in the restaurant was very good. The young woman bartending was very friendly and the lobby was very comfortable and inviting. I was not able to use the Starbucks but I thought it was a nice touch. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is one of the better Holiday Inns I've ever seen. Suites are large with two HD flat screen TVs and balconies. Kitchen included utenisils, pots, pans, plates etc. Bathroom was a little small but fine. The best feature of the hotel has to be the public spaces. The pool area is beautiful with conversation areas and fire pits. The lobby and restaurant were also very attractive and there was a sundry shop in the lobby. Room service was fine. The hotel was no more than a 10 minute drive to the airport and the shuttle was prompt. Overall, an excellent hotel and an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cu-later67
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

An older completely remodeled hotel. Service Service Service. Rooms are large with separate bedroom from living area. Microwave, small refrigerator and comfortable furniture. Stay here if the location is convenient for your stay in Phoenix.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed a couple nights at this hotel and it was just ok. It apparently was an Embassy Suites at one time and has been remodeled. The rooms are neat with the separate living area and bedroom but the bathroom is super little and we never were quite able to get a HOT shower. Housekeeping came to our door too early so we told her to come back in a little while but never came and cleaned the room. We had to call and ask for towels twice until we got some more. Overall it was just an average experience. The room was clean and comfortable but you could hear A LOT of street noise. This would be a good business hotel but I wouldn't recommend for couples or families...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North

Address: 1515 North 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#48 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North Hotel Phoenix
Holiday Inn And Suites Phoenix Airport North
Embassy Suites Phoenix Airport
Phoenix Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.