We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay, Save & Sleep-In!
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Springfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great atmosphere, very chic and modern, friendly and efficient check in, good size and clean rooms, very good fitness center, great fresh breakfast and food in General, the restaurant staff where very friendly and great service, well located ...I can't say enough good things about this hotel.


Points to improve...the concierge breakfast lounge wasn't as good as the one in the lobby and room service could be better as there where remains of someone's breakfast waiting to be picked up on the floor for an entire day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The breakfast in Elevate, our concierge lounge, is intentionally designed to be healthful and easily/quickly available to our guests with all the offerings chef prepared. They do not have the full menu as our restaurant in the lobby, which is common in concierge lounges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    122
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
48
18
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Renaisssance is an easy two block walk from the convention center in downtown Phoenix. During my 5 night stay, the room was comfortable and very spacious. The bed was comfortable. My only complaints are that the room lighting was very dim and that the hotel charged $27 per day for parking.

Unless you plan to spend all of your time at the convention center or other meetings, there is not much to do downtown. The trolley is convenient but it really doesn't travel anywhere useful from downtown. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but if you want to eat something other than average over-priced food, then drive to some other part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we value it highly. I'm sorry you didn't find things to do while in downtown Phoenix. We have live theater, major sporting events, concert venues, night clubs, bowling, comedy clubs and tons of restaurants - please be sure to ask our Navigators for advice on what's happening while you're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would not return to this property. The rooms were small and dark. The housekeeping left a lot to be desired...the same dustball stayed on the floor by my door during my entire stay. They did some ultra modern decor in the rooms that just did not work for me.
I did enjoy the concierge lounge. the service was great, breakfasts ample and snacks quite tasty.
Some of the front desk staff were helpful others were not...just not a property I would return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Please accept our apology for the condition of your room during your stay with us. And I'm sorry you found the room small and dark - our windows take up almost an entire wall, and have the cool cheese grater sun guard. I'm glad you enjoyed Elevate Lounge, it is the best concierge lounge you'll find anywhere! We hope you'll give us another try. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed on the 19th floor with access to club lounge. Pamela and Ben are the best representatives for your establishment. Both went out of their way to make us feel like we were at home! Went for breakfast each morning. We were always greeted with a smile and warm welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Ben and Pam really appreciate your comments - thanks so much for recognizing their exceptional service! Elevate Lounge is the best Concierge lounge you'll find - please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is right downtown, you can walk easily to numerous restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice and has the most decorated lobby and conference center I have ever seen. Tastefully done as well. Sleeping rooms were very nice, only complaint was the beds were a bit hard.
The impressive thing about this hotel, and was remarked about by everyone in my group, was the attention customer service. Just phenomenal. If you walked across the lobby a staff person would ask if you need help with anything. One of the escalators broke during our conference, they stationed someone at the top and bottom of the other escalator- which also had to be turned off- to direct people and help those who could not handle the stairs by getting them to a back elevator. When the morning session was over, they turned on the one escalator to get everyone down quickly, then reversed it temporarily right before the afternoon session to get people back to their sessions.
We had an evening event in a reception area that was a bit hard to locate - and the hotel put staff all along the route to make sure everyone got to the reception easily. Due to the escalator problem-which can't be helped- the hotel provided a very nice break for free for our group-- and a number of staff were on both levels of the conference center to make sure everyone knew about the free refreshments. The hotel management is to be applauded for delivering such amazing service. As I said, it wasn't just me that noticed this 5 star level of service- everyone I was with did as well. (And having stayed at a couple of 5 star hotels, they could not hold a candle to this hotel in terms of overall customer service). Oh, and our room rate was amazing too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Best service oriented hotel EVER! Yipee! That's what we strive for each and every day - thanks very much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for business as our company was hosting a reception & dinner at the hotel. The customer service was among the best I've ever received. From the doormen to the concierge to check-in, it was all top-notch. The food quality and bar service was also excellent. The rooms are well appointed and are very clean.

The fitness center was being remodeled, but the hotel had an arrangement with a Gold's Gym just one block away that granted guests free access. Fantastic!!

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for recognizing our staff and their outstanding level of customer service. Our Ambassadors are the best in the business and they genuinely love what they do. Our new fitness center is open now - hope you get an opportunity to come back and utilize it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel and service were good. Location was easy walking to several restaurants and shopping. Lobby was bright and airy. Good refreshing place to charge up for another day of business. Parking was $17/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about our lovely property. Our lobby and lounge area certainly are cool, aren't they?! Recharge and refresh - that's what I'm talkin' about! Please come back and see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Address: 50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artful urban retreat among downtown Phoenix, Arizona hotels…With stylish new guestrooms, the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown combines the body of a full-service business and convention hotel with the soul of a boutique hotel. Discover the finest in downtown Phoenix accommodations, where the hotel's alluring colors and modern design elements welcomes travelers. Within, you'll discover a refuge of urban sophistication and first rate service. Outside, the best of downtown is steps away and there is so much to do. Walk to a Sun's game at the US Airways Center or a Diamondback's game at Chase Field. Hop the light-rail and head to museum district, home to the word-class Heard Museum. Check out the Phoenix Zoo, the historic Orpheum downtown theater, or the thriving arts scene. Phoenix also has great restaurants and pubs that are sure to satisfy. When your stay is complete, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is conveniently close for a quick return. We look forward to welcoming you at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.