We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay, Save & Sleep-In!
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was in Phoenix overnight with my family for an event at the US Airways arena. Our room on the 17th floor was quite comfortable and all of the staff friendly & helpful. I checked out without delay and was halfway home when I realized I left an item in my room. I immediately called the hotel and Albert Cardenas in the Loss Prevention Department went up to the room, retrieved the item and sent if via Fed Ex to my home. Marriott went above & beyond to provide excellent customer service and I will continue my loyalty to them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Customer Service - it's not only what we believe in, it's how we live our days! Thanks so much for your loyalty, it means a lot to us to have guests who return time after time. Can't wait for you to come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    115
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
46
17
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am a flight crew member and have the privilege of staying at this hotel on my Phoenix layovers. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and the rooms are beautiful and clean. I had left my iPad in my room and realized it once I got on my flight. The manager went above and beyond and had it Fed Exed to me the following day. I was extremely grateful. If you are looking for a wonderful downtown Phoenix hotel I would highly recommend the Marriott Renaissance.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We love our flight crews!! Thanks so very much for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad your iPad was returned so quickly - can't travel without those anymore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I live in the valley and had to be downtown for a 7:30 AM seminar so decided to stay there overnight. Anyone who lives in the outliers of the Phoenix Metro area knows the traffic situation in the AM as a 30 mile drive turns into a 90 minute commute.

I selected this hotel because the seminar was there. And I was sorely disappointed with the accommodations for the price of the room. The staff was very friendly and the lobby was beautiful so this wasn't the issue but the rooms were small and DARK with our room facing an "lovely" renovation project next door. The hallways smelled funky....not sure if it was old cigarette smoke or mold but it sure was funky.

The rooms. Where to begin? We had no ice bucket in our room and had to call the front desk twice to get one (that took an hour). The armoire in the bathroom has something splattered all over it...is it hairspray? Is it perfume? Aftershave? Something worse? I don't want to know but I do think it should be cleaned. There is NO fan in bathrooms so when you take a shower it gets nice and humid....almost like a tropical island in the middle of the summer. Internet access COSTS $13!!!! Valet parking is $27!!!!!! A 32 oz bottle of piss-warm, room temperature water (remember this is the desert) is left tantalizingly on the dresser but if you open it it'll cost you $5!!! There is no refrigerator in the room. All this for $159 a night. Oh and there is no safe in the room. Waaaaay overpriced for the money and I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
First and foremost, I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are indeed in the process of renovating and it sounds as if the location of your room was very close to that. Perhaps the odor in the hallway was associated with the construction. I know exactly what you're talking about with the 'splatter' on the armoire - it's hairspray! Because those armoires are solid wood, we have contracted with a company that specializes in refinishing fine furniture, and they are currently going through each guest room to bring those beautiful armoires back to their former glory.
I'm also disappointed that you had to call down twice for an ice bucket - there definitely should have been one in the room, and we are addressing that issue. As for the internet, valet and in-room water bottle charges, those are unfortunately standard charges for full service hotels. We have lots of refirgerators available upon request. Thanks for choosing us, and I sincerely hope you'll give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, thank you Tripadvisor reviewers - your description of this property was exactly right. It's an older building but they have done a great job renovating and keeping it in good repair. The concierge lounge was the best I've ever seen and the chef is incredible - made me some amazing "snacks". The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the beds were the high-quality Marriott beds that I expect. The service in the hotel was excellent - everyone was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a perfect example of why I am a loyal Marriott elite member.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotel, especially when you've chosen it based on the great reviews we're so grateful to have! Elevate, which is our concierge lounge, is blowing all other lounges out of the water! Our Marriott Rewards Members are the luckiest group around! Thanks for your loyalty, and can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

the hotel is pretty nice as they have renovated most of the floors and are working on the lower levels. Everyone of the staff members that we dealt with were super nice. didn't care for the fact that we had to pay $27 for parking but that beats walking to a parking garage or feeding the meters every two hours. I would have to say the only negative thing was the bruschetta we ordered in the lounge. I have never seen this served on toast anywhere. Didn't taste good at all and if they were out of the correct bread they should have said so. all in all we had a good time and were very satisfied with the rooms. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a room on one of the upper levels with a view of downtown. most of the ground levels are sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - we want to hear the good and the not so good - that's how we improve. So sorry about your bruschetta - what you described is most definitely not our standard, and we're looking into what might have happened. We hope you'll come back to try it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel once and found it excellent: extremely comfortable rooms, great location, helpful concierge, etc. But what sets this hotel apart is their customer service, especially Olivia at the front desk. Olivia helped my colleague and I resolve a question regarding our reservation in a way that exceeded our expectations. We're very grateful for her help and will be staying here in the future for follow-up meetings in the future because of her customer focus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Yay Olivia! She is such a gem - a truly shining example of how it's done! Thank you for mentioning her by name - she was tickled that you remembered her. The entire staff at the Renaissance takes pride in their level of customer service. Thanks for your loyalty, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel was conveniently located downtown. Lots of things within walking distance. Hotel was nice but dated. Some areas have been updated and others have not, over all very nice hotel, friendly staff and good bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing us while in Phoenix! Our building was originally built in 1896 and has been re-invented several times since then. We are in the middle of a renovation right now! We hope you'll come back to see the finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Address: 50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artful urban retreat among downtown Phoenix, Arizona hotels…With stylish new guestrooms, the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown combines the body of a full-service business and convention hotel with the soul of a boutique hotel. Discover the finest in downtown Phoenix accommodations, where the hotel's alluring colors and modern design elements welcomes travelers. Within, you'll discover a refuge of urban sophistication and first rate service. Outside, the best of downtown is steps away and there is so much to do. Walk to a Sun's game at the US Airways Center or a Diamondback's game at Chase Field. Hop the light-rail and head to museum district, home to the word-class Heard Museum. Check out the Phoenix Zoo, the historic Orpheum downtown theater, or the thriving arts scene. Phoenix also has great restaurants and pubs that are sure to satisfy. When your stay is complete, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is conveniently close for a quick return. We look forward to welcoming you at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.