We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Phoenix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #13 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent three nights here for a work meeting. What a fabulous hotel. Great decor, room was contemporary elegant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good, too. Being right in the heart of Phoenix, it's an easy walk to several downtown destinations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for your kind words about our wonderful hotel and staff! When you stay for 3 nights in a row, you can really get a feel for what works for you, and it sounds like everything did! Downtown is a great place to spend time, and I'm glad you had a chance to check it out while you were here. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    108
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
39
17
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel when I attend symphony performances in downtown Phoenix, and have found the hotel experience as pleasurable as the concerts. The lobby is very pleasant, and I enjoy a quick dinner before the performance at the bar or the restaurant. The rooms are very nicely furnished and amazingly quiet. But best of all, the staff is excellent, everyone is very friendly and efficient. It's the best!

Room Tip: The upper floors are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you many times over for your loyalty in staying with us when you attend the symphony downtown! It sounds like a perfect night that starts with a stellar cocktail in our ICON lounge, accompanied by a great dinner. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The bed was super comfy as we stayed 2 nights here in Oct. I arrived a bit earlier than my friend so I had a snack and a drink at the bar. The hummus plate was pretty good and the margarita was delicious. Restaurants were all walking distance so was the concert hall (we saw Eddie Vedder play). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Super comfy beds - that's what I'm talkin' about! It makes your stay in a hotel so much more pleasant, doesn't it? And our hummus plate has just the right amount of garlic to send me to the moon. Hope next time there's a concert in downtown Phoenix that you're coming to see, that you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Thanksgiving! The rooms are beautiful and chic! Wonderful, friendly staff, especially Josepha and Geoff at the front desk! The breakfast buffet was delicious and with lots of choices! Thanksgiving dinner served in the bar was a beautiful presentation and very good served by Anna, who was very attentive! Can't say enough about this fine hotel and outstanding employees!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
How nice that you spent your Thanksgiving holiday with our Renaissance family! AND that you had such a marvelous experience! Thanks for singling out Josepha, Geoff and Anna - they are all wonderful ambassadors and represent us with polite professionalism. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I wasn't expecting much in downtown Phoenix. Boy, was I wrong.

I spend a lot of time in the Phoenix area, but not downtown. A convention brought me there, and left me wondering why a lot more conventions are not held in Phoenix. Great weather, easy airport access and -- surprise -- great hotels.

The Renaissance surpassed my expectations. If you're attending a convention, the location can't be beat. Our room was excellent -- great bathroom lighting, generous counter space, nice shower with good water pressure. Everything I like about a hotel room.

Downstairs, they have a great restaurant. When they seat you, they put a timer on your table because their goal is to feed you quickly. I love that. They're totally tuned into the fact that most people who frequent the restaurant have a time requirement. They were prompt, but not at the expense of quality. I thought the food was excellent. We ate breakfast there each morning and it was great -- and I'm kind of fussy about my fruit, cereal and pasty breakfasts.

I'd recommend this hotel for conventions, but also if you need lodging for a Suns or D-backs game. It's very convenient for both.

In addition to the restaurant, the lobby bar was great. We took advantage of that on multiple occasions.

If you stay here, eat at Hanny's across the street. Great spot. Cool old building.

My only complaint about this hotel would be the wireless Internet. It's available for free only in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Woo Hoo! Sounds like we knocked this one out of the park! I love the timer's we use in Marston's Cafe too - it's such a novel idea, and it works really well! We hope now that you know how cool downtown Phoenix is, that you'll spend more time here. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance Phoenix for a conference. The hotel was wonderful. The lobby and the rooms were clean and attractive. The restaurants had good food, and the people were all terrific. The people were the most friendly and helpful I have encountered in a hotel.

Just before I came to the Renaissance Phoenix for a conference, I had hurt my knee badly, and so I was not my normal optimistic self. I was also traveling alone. Floyd Jones went out of his way to be friendly and helpful, always with a smile and just the right advice. He really made a difference in how my outlook and in the quality of my stay. He stood out among a staff that was generally above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
So sorry about your knee, I hope you're recovering well. Yes, our Floyd can brighten anyone's day, and I'm delighted he was able to help with your outlook. We certainly hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here with a group of girlfriends for our birthday and found that the Renaissance Downtown Phoenix exceeded our expectations! The front desk agent (Josepha) was super nice and helpful! She sent up an amenity to celebrate our birthdays. The room was very chic and I LOVED the window seat.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a renovated room with a view of the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Happy belated birthday! Sounds like you all had a delightful time, and what a nice surprise for Josepha to send up an amenity for your celebration! Please come back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Address: 50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artful urban retreat among downtown Phoenix, Arizona hotels…With stylish new guestrooms, the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown combines the body of a full-service business and convention hotel with the soul of a boutique hotel. Discover the finest in downtown Phoenix accommodations, where the hotel's alluring colors and modern design elements welcomes travelers. Within, you'll discover a refuge of urban sophistication and first rate service. Outside, the best of downtown is steps away and there is so much to do. Walk to a Sun's game at the US Airways Center or a Diamondback's game at Chase Field. Hop the light-rail and head to museum district, home to the word-class Heard Museum. Check out the Phoenix Zoo, the historic Orpheum downtown theater, or the thriving arts scene. Phoenix also has great restaurants and pubs that are sure to satisfy. When your stay is complete, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is conveniently close for a quick return. We look forward to welcoming you at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.