We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor in the remodeled rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Phoenix Downtown to your Saves list
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bumpass, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting decor in the remodeled rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Great downtown location. Friendly staff. Only downside is the noisy rooms that have connecting doors. Their is NO sound insulation at all. Rather annoying when you can hear everything that's going on next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I'm very sorry that you had a noisy experience with us. Our reception desk is equipped with all kinds of useful things for our discoverers, including ear plugs if you feel you need them! We try to be at the ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    143
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
56
19
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wonderful location, fun lobby bar and friendly service.
My room ... Half the lighting didn't work so I moved the bed aside to see if light was plugged in and found dust bunnies, two remotes and a half inch of filth. Freshly painted bathroom ceiling but painter/cleaner left globs of paint in the tub. Wish these hotels could pay attention to the little things

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
First and foremost, let me apologize for the condition of the area under your bed, and that your tub was not cleaned after the ceiling was painted. As a guest of ours, you should definitely expect the best, and that is what we strive for each and every day. I hope you called down to report these situations as well as the lights not working - that is the best way to get resolution quickly and a personal apology. We appreciate that you chose us, and hope you'll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very nice property in the center of downtown Phoenix. Walking distance to everything - ball park, convention center, everything! Rooms are a little on the small side, but not unbearable; great staff always with a smile and an offer of help. On the day we checked out the hotel had hired an ice cream truck, it was 107 degrees, and was giving ice cream treats away - very nice.

If you need a place to stay in downtown Phoenix, seriously consider the Renaissance!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
The ice cream truck! What a fun time we had that day - I'm so glad you had a chance to enjoy a cool treat on a hot day! It's our pleasure to surprise our discoverers with something wonderfully new! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nicely decorated; very typical for this chain. Friendly front desk staff and clean comfortable room. Location nice as several blocks from restaurants and shopping. Downtown area seemed to be empty at night and so was surprised the hotel charges $27 per night parking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty R, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Parking in a hotel garage in a major downtown city can indeed be more costly than you'd think. You must have caught a rare quiet time downtown. Typically, there are major sporting events, live theatre and concerts pulsing through the area. Don't give up on us - come back and experience the excitement in downtown Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Renaissance staff members were unfailingly friendly and helpful during our visit to Phoenix. They greeted us each time we came in, they helped me find a place to replace a broken watch band, and they found us a cab in an instant. When we discovered there was only one caffeinated coffee pod in our room - tragedy!- the housekeeping staff apologized and gave us extras.

The Renaissance is a short two blocks from the Convention Center. Our room was attractive, comfortable and up to date. While there is a daily charge for WiFi in the rooms, there are many comfortable places to sit in the lobby and use it for free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hooray! We're delighted that your experience with us was so wonderful! We take great pride in all of our Ambassadors - their friendly nature and willingness to help. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

So first off the elevators were froze up so I had to take the service elevator where a ton of people jammed in...then my drinks olives got knocked out by some girls backpack. Well...dude running everyone up/down the elevator had more olives brought to my room and then another knock was 2 free drinks!!! Hahaha. Love it. Talk about customer retention.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
What a great story about customer retention! Our 'dude' of that day is Chad Hall, with our Loss Prevention department. He, like all of our Ambassadors, go above and beyond every single day to make sure our Discoverers have the best experience possible. Thanks for sharing your story, and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Hotel uses the excuse that they just opened 2etc but come on on its June update the webite regarding "safe-in -every room", free internet please add "lobby only" & yes lets not forget the overpriced "Boiled Steak" for $26 dollars! This place is a joke for the price and false & misleading amenities. Sad part is that when you arrive everything you requested in advance with type of room not booked properly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Response Team at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Samantha,

First and foremost, our apologies that you did not have a pleasant experience. Our intention is certainly never to mislead our Discoverers and we are currently in the process of looking for where this information is posted so that we can change it immediately. Thank you very much for bringing it to our attention. We would like the opportunity to speak with you directly and recover your confidence in our hotel. If you are so willing, please call our General Manager directly. She stands ready to chat with you further.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Downtown

Address: 50 East Adams Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Phoenix Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artful urban retreat among downtown Phoenix, Arizona hotels…With stylish new guestrooms, the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown combines the body of a full-service business and convention hotel with the soul of a boutique hotel. Discover the finest in downtown Phoenix accommodations, where the hotel's alluring colors and modern design elements welcomes travelers. Within, you'll discover a refuge of urban sophistication and first rate service. Outside, the best of downtown is steps away and there is so much to do. Walk to a Sun's game at the US Airways Center or a Diamondback's game at Chase Field. Hop the light-rail and head to museum district, home to the word-class Heard Museum. Check out the Phoenix Zoo, the historic Orpheum downtown theater, or the thriving arts scene. Phoenix also has great restaurants and pubs that are sure to satisfy. When your stay is complete, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is conveniently close for a quick return. We look forward to welcoming you at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Wyndham Phoenix
Phoenix Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Phoenix Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.