We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good salads and pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo

Cibo
603 N 5th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)
(602) 526-0210
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #55 of 2,535 restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good salads and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A group of 8 friends (4 couples) went here for dinner as it was near the theatre we would be attending for an evening performance. The evening special appetizer was arroncini, fried rice balls. The table shared one order. They were crispy but not greasy on the outside, with a filling that tasted more cheesy than ricey ~ and that's not a complaint. My husband and I snared a salad of mixed greens with goat cheese, candied wanuts, cucumbers, onions and strawberries. We got the balsamic vinaigrette on the side for better control and loved the flavor combination of this salad. Our pizza was the funghi, mushrooms over red sauce and mozzarella cheese. It was very thin with a crispy, slightly charred in places crust. Although flavorful, it was not carefully cut, with some overly huge slices and a few that were minuscule. Two dessert crepes (the only type of dessert served here) were shared bymthe table: crepe Suzette and nutella with banana. Both were delicious. But be warned ~ when you are asked if you want ice cream with it, that will be $2 extra. However, prices are fairly reasonable. The service was top notch although tables are a bit close to each other. I would return here if I was in the area again, although I would not make this a destination on it's own.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    84
    45
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Italian sandwiches and tasty salads for lunch in downtown Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Cibo is best known for their pizzas, which are only served at dinner. Lunchtime features fresh and tasty Italian sandwiches and salads. Weather permitting, outdoor seating is the better option. Indoor seating areas can become crowded and fairly noisy during lunch hour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cibo's had a unique atmosphere, and creative food offerings. Everyone in our party of eight, ranging from senior citizens to kids was thrilled with what they ate. It was a darn good thing we had reservations though, because the old house it is situated in is not huge, and the giant crowds formed outside well before the doors opened for the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I finally decided to try their pizza while visiting my family in Phoenix. The crust was almost too thin for my taste but they use such high quality ingredients to make their delicious pizza that it makes up for a very thin crust. The service is extremely friendly and they take the time to explain the menu. I will definitely return to try a different pizza next time and maybe one of their crepes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cute place that makes you feel like you were dining at a friend's house. The pizza is very good and so was the service. I would highly recommend sitting outside since it can get very noisy and can get a little cramped.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.