We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a reservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo

Cibo
603 N 5th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)
(602) 526-0210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 2,561 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central City
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cibo's had a unique atmosphere, and creative food offerings. Everyone in our party of eight, ranging from senior citizens to kids was thrilled with what they ate. It was a darn good thing we had reservations though, because the old house it is situated in is not huge, and the giant crowds formed outside well before the doors opened for the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I finally decided to try their pizza while visiting my family in Phoenix. The crust was almost too thin for my taste but they use such high quality ingredients to make their delicious pizza that it makes up for a very thin crust. The service is extremely friendly and they take the time to explain the menu. I will definitely return to try a different pizza next time and maybe one of their crepes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cute place that makes you feel like you were dining at a friend's house. The pizza is very good and so was the service. I would highly recommend sitting outside since it can get very noisy and can get a little cramped.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“funky, cozy, neighborhood atmosphere- LOVED it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a very pleasant surprise. This is a converted house in the middle of a quiet residential neighborhood turned into a pizza place. Tables are scattered inside and on the front patio, where there were beautiful white lights and live music. Red sauce pizza was fantastic!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Top notch pizza in a not-so-top notch part of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

For a city as large as Phoenix is, it sure has a barren downtown. Get away from the sports arenas and you can walk for blocks without encountering a place to eat. Happily, we walked for about 20 minutes after a ballgame and sought out Cibo. It doesn't open until 5pm for dinner, so we had to cool our heels for a while, as did others, on their porch until they opened. But the wait was worth it. The service was friendly, the wine was good and the hand-crafted pizzas, using high-quality ingredients from Italy.

The restaurant is an old house, so there isn't a lot of interior seating. (I believe they have an outdoor section which may be larger.) It's cozy but by the time we left it was also getting busy.

The Antipassto Speciale was aptly named. Many great flavors all on one plate meant for sharing. My wife and I ordered two pizzas (they come sized for one person) and shared them. the Prosciutto Crudo pizza was elegant in its simplicity. The Di Notte pizza was an amalgamation of several cheeses with spicy salami. Both were superb -- just great combinations of flavors.

Such a simple meal, but it ended up being the gastromonical highlight of our week in Phoenix.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;