We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gift that keeps in giving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anzio's Italian Restaurant

Anzio's Italian Restaurant
12418 N 28th Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85029-2437 (North Mountain)
602-375-1221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 2,668 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The gift that keeps in giving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

If you're unsure of this place, don't be. If you're afraid to try pizza that is slightly different, and has an outstanding flavor one cannot decide, you will not like this place. Standard fare for me and the family, for years, is Antipasto salad, Wings, and pizza. The salad is a meal on its own...the large easily feeds 3. The wings in my opinion have the traditional flavor and texture chicken wings should have. Nothing fancy, no crazy sauces, just pick your heat. The pizza, well, you're either going to love it or hate it. Not going to lie, it's a cross between a deep dish style and thin crust. They use different cheeses besides just mozzarella which gives it a unique flavor. Their sandwiches and entrees are also extremely good, however I have not had one in a while so I can't honestly rate. Lastly, don't come looking for a wine list to die for. Their wines are pretty much by the glass and good at best. Decent beer selection. That said, if you're coming here for fancy, wrong place again. Total blue collar place with hard working staff. Most of the diners are return visitors and regulars. It's not very big, so if you arrive at peak dinner hour you may have a small wait, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You have got to be kidding.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently visited Anzio's and prior to going, read the reviews on this site by others. And all I can say is, "You have got to be kidding!"

First off, take a look at the menu...nothing exceptional, surely nothing inspiring. But that could be OK...maybe they have a simlpe menu, but maybe the simple items they do make are the best in town...NOT. Take a peek at the menu items "Seafood". There are six total choices: a two-piece fried cod plate, a fish sandwich, a three-piece fried cod plate, and three pasta dishes made with shrimp (alfredo, etc). What kind of "Seafood" is that? I'll tell you...frozen, in a bag, and either deep-fried or thawed and mixed with pasta.

So I ordered a pizza. Thoroughly fogettable. The sauce was tasteless, and the crust was dry...no elasticity at all. I had to take a sip of water after each bite just to swallow it. Another in our party had the chicken parmesan. The breaded chicken cutlet passed muster, but again, the marinara was tasteless and bland. It came with a side of spaghetti that made Chef-boy-ar-dee look like Morimoto.

Another in our party had lasagne, which I didn't taste, but from afar, the sauce looked brown...ech.

But the most disturbing item ordered was the Antipasto. Here is what was in the "antipasto": chopped iceburg lettuce, chopped pre-packaged cold-cuts (ham for sure, and maybe salami-not sure), some black olives, some chopped pepperocini, some grated carrot and some grated white cheese (couldn't tell what kind). This was all heaped in a bowl...which was mostly full of that always gourmet iceburg lettuce. All of this for just $9 dollars! This salad was the single worst item that I have ever had at any restaraunt. Not the worst as in taste or portion, etc, but worst in the sense that you usually have a sense of reference when you order an item, that when you get it, it somewhat resembles your expectation. So do this...close your eyes and imagine what your concept of an Antipasto is, then go back and re-read my decription above. (If you're curious as to my reference point for Antipastos, go to Nello's)

As for service, it was adequate. The servers were gracious, but we had to ask for more water, and the parmisan was supposed to have marinara on the side, which it did not.

So, I don't get it. All of the reviews that rate this place highly must have a very different reference point for good Italian food than mine. Either that or they are filed by compatriots. You decide.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Average At Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went to Anzios for dinner based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. All five of us had Italian meals and I would not recommend any of them. Nothing was bad but nothing was really good. The antipasto was a bowl of basically lettuce covered with shredded mozzarella and then covered again with shredded carrot. We would not return to this restaurant.

The menu as show on Trip Advisor is not accurate. There are more selections and the prices are higher.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great local restaurant that is a great place to enjoy an excellent meal. From appaziter to pasta meal their food is always top quality. I have eaten here three times and will not be looking for another Italian restaurant as long as Anzio's is here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Italy in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Italian food is excellnt and the pizza puts most places to shame. If you have not tried them, please do. You will be happy you did.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anzio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Anzio's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anzio's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.