We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Eye

Sushi Eye
4855 East Warner Road Suite A29, Phoenix, AZ 85044
(480) 820-3376
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 2,465 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The plaza that has sushi Eye isn't much to look at but the food is great. I discovered this place by accident and it is now one of my favorite sushi go to's. Menu is extensive and the product is fresh

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“lovely place, profound taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I like sushi places where you can watch them make it. When i finally see my creation come to completion, it's a masterpiece just waiting to be devoured. Its art, yet food at the same time. Every bite was just lovely, fresh ingredients "at least they taste that way" really plays in a roll. Service was pretty fast for a sushi restaurant. Order anything and you'll be happy.

Their house sushi rolls were the best, i can't recall the names, the shrimp tempura and seared salmon tasted above average to say the least.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Level Contributor
299 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The first impression is that this place lacks a Japanese ambiance. WIth two TVs above the ( Sushi ) bar it felt more like an American Sports Bar. Granted, we were there during happy hour. We sampled a couple of their sushi rolls, spicy scallop and shrimp tempura, which definitely had been adjusted to the American taste. The nigiri sushi sampling fared better. We ordered the uni and the ama ebi ( sweet shrimp with the heads fried ) and we were pleased with the freshness of the product. The spicy tuna handrolls were satisfying although the nori was not crispy to my taste, actually it was quite soggy. Generally we felt the sushi rice was pretty good, not too sticky, maybe a bit on the wet side. The Green Tea was authentic and made fresh. The total for two ran $ 60.00, not cheap for an American restaurant.
Nothing outstanding, maybe just a tad above average.We give it three stars, but remember we live in Japan, American guests probably will want to award 4 stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love going to this place. The sushi chefs rock. They always welcome you when you walk in and they treat you like family. If you are not sure what you are wanting you can tell the shushi chef what you like and LOOK OUT they will get it right everytime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
720 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 976 helpful votes
“Way too many rolls for my taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a good but not great sushi option for the Ahwatukee area. I have been in here three times in the past few months and will likely keep in in my sushi rotation but it is near the bottom. They have very few items that are not on other menus and their quality is not above any of their competitors in a five mile radius, in my opioion. The layout of the place is nice and the staff is friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Eye also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sushi Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Eye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.