We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve to your Saves list
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dorrington, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our family of seven stayed in a three-bedroom in early March. We were in Phoenix for Spring Training baseball. This was our second stay. The first time, two years ago, was via an RCI exchange, before WorldMark purchased most of the property. Had WM not become the owner I would not have stayed there a second time, as the property was pretty run down. Now that WM has assumed ownership it looks so much better. The rooms were standard WorldMark (although I thought décor could be improved upon); the pool and BBQ area looked much spiffier. (Only two gas grills, though, need a couple more.) Don't expect this to be a "resort." It is in back of a business park, but adjacent to a great wild land area with hiking trails. You must have a car and expect to drive to anything. For our needs it was just fine, especially since we ate all our meals at home except when we were at the ballparks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CLACKAMAS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We came to this place just after WorldMark took over the property last year and book a month for this year. We just love the location and friendly staff. The rooms are consistence with what is listed in the information about the property and it equipped with the items we have come to expect from WroldMark properties. We have booked to come back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is peaceful, but other than the pool and hiking, there is not a lot to do. A rental car is a must. The units are nice, very much like apts. No pictures on the wall, very sterile, but clean. I had read trip advisor so I knew it would be hard to find at night since we had a late flight from East Coast, but with a little help we were able to find it. The signage is scarce and very small and it is located in an unlikely place. Just know when you see the big Sprint sign make sure you turn right and follow to very end and make a left. You may or may not see the sign that says Worldmark by Wyndham.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We actually booked this property through RCI (Resorts Club International). I had asked when I made the reservation for a kind/two twin set up as we were traveling with our two teen/adult daughters. The first problem was finding the property as they are listed with RCI as the Desert Arroyo Resort. The property is in an industrial park, which is actually fine and the adjoining nature reserve is great for hiking.

I ran inside to ask if this Worldmark by Wyndham was the Desert Arroyo. I hadn't even gotten to the desk when a time share sales person asked me to come to his desk so that he could "tell me about the area". I said I preferred to wait until after I checked in. Hubby and the girls joined me in line. We checked in and were told about the two pools, two hot tubs and fitness room. Then we spoke with Mr. Salesman who shows us a tub diverter faucet so we would know how to take a shower. He gave us some menus and asked us to fill out a paper "just for our records, it won't be shared with anyone." On that paper was a request for our home, email, phone and annual income. My husband said, "Isn't the information on the check in what the hotel needs?" "Yes, but this is just for us." We refused to provide the information. We also declined an invitation to a free breakfast and 50-minute presentation in exchange for $125. These breakfasts are usually terrible and at least 3x 50 minutes.

Got to our room. One queen and a king. Called the desk and "because you are with RCI you cannot have a room with two twins" (also no garage noted by others here). We took the room with the queen and gave the master suite to our girls. On first glance the unit looks nice. However, the unit did not feel really clean. Our feet were filthy each evening and we weren't walking outdoors without shoes. The kitchen was VERY poorly outfitted for cooking, although I am happy that the resort provided basic spices, 4 coffee filters and two packs of coffee.

Upon going out to the pool, the first day, we noticed about 20 people in one hot tub, 0 in another and only kids in the pools. Apparently no one else had told the front desk and the issue was fixed on the reminder of our trip. Most of the rooms are built around the pool. It was very loud in the bedrooms 10 am on, once the pool was open.

The area is a little shady, so it might not be the best for families wanting to shop or dine nearby. The reason I say this is on one afternoon, we dropped out daughters at the Arizona Mills, an outlet mall close by. Our daughter later related that she had seen a large pool of blood in the main area of the mall with security guards surrounding it. We later learned that the prior day someone had been shot in the parking lot by police after some type of altercation. The girls also said that there are some type of rv-vehicles with stuffed animal bodies upon which children are cruising around the mall, with seemingly little to no adult supervision.

With the range of other properties, I would definitely not return to this one. I found the front desk staff pleasant. Others I spoke with on the grounds (maintenance and housekeeping) were also very nice. Time share sales people too in your face. Public bathroom is next to sales desk. Got solicited a couple of times when using the rest room.

Room Tip: As for a room on the side of the parking lot NOT facing the pool. Although there were people above u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As other have said, this property is in a business area and can be difficult to find, but it is right on the edge of the South Mountain preserve, so easy hiking right outside your door. It seems to be a condo complex the bought out....as they have single car garages below them. The units are equipt with residential appliances like ice/water through the door refrigerators, and large washer dryer units rather than the stacked ones we usually see. Our 2 bedroom unit was very nice....really felt like "home". Our only complaint would be the sound proofing is non existant as we were unfortunate enough to have our next door neighbors have a party on our last evening, and the noise from their patio went on till 11pm, then their bedroom butted up to ours, so we could hear their conversations and TV well until 3am....and we sleep with earplugs....it was bad. The pools/spas are very nice and everyone was very helpful here. Will say they have the upgraded bedding/linens which were very nice and pillows were great too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived September 8th 2013 and stayed 4 nights. We didn't have any problems finding the resort.However we understand why others may have had trouble. The resort is in an industrial park,the driveway to World Mark is at the very end of the road,we did question our self's once or twice wondering which driveway was World Marks. It would be very helpful if the World Mark sign was more easy to see.
When we checked in the staff was friendly, they gave us a list of attractions and fine dining. After we checked in we spoke with a fellow named Joe,who wanted to sign us up for the one hour seminar,we declined to attend as we our World Mark guests not owners and are not planing on becoming owners at this time. Joe asked us a couple more times during our stay if we wanted to attend,once again we said no.
We had a 1 bedroom suit with a pull in garage,the suit was very clean and well decorated. The TV is not HD a small problem lol,all the comforts of home were in the suit,no complaints there. The grounds to the property were very nice,pool was nice as well. The only thing we kept saying to our self's was" where are the people"? we hardly saw anyone around the ground we did see a few people near the pool once in a while. There are no activities at this resort,so if you are used to other World Mark properties that offer activities,don't be disappointed when you find nothing to do at this resort,besides lay at the pool or stay in your room. This also goes for the immediate surrounding area around the outside of the resort. Everything you do will be a drive,everything! If you are wanting to go hiking that is right outside your front door this was a bonus. But other than that you will be bored out of your mind at this resort,unless that is what you came for. We did enjoy the Arizona Mills Mall,which is about 10 minutes away by car. We would recommend this mall, plenty of great stores and very clean.
We will probably not stay at this resort again just for the simple fact that it is not what we expected,it probably would work for others who have seen Phoenix before and just want the relaxation and are not into touring the city.But for my wife and I we kind of needed more,and the surrounding area was a bit unpleasant,you will drive a lot on S. 48th Street, by unpleasant I mean the area looked a little run down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived after midnight and was impressed by the reserved private garage under our condo. The condo was spotlessly clean and cool. Nicely stocked kitchen and bath. Very spacious 2 bedroo. Fun pool area will water fountains in pools creating a cooler environment in the Arizona heat. Free coffee in the office. Nice staff, but I didn't appreciate an early morning call from the sales agent who wanted to know if we had gotten in alright. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Address: 4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.