We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 100% Satasfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Save Saved
You added WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a 100% Satasfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived September 8th 2013 and stayed 4 nights. We didn't have any problems finding the resort.However we understand why others may have had trouble. The resort is in an industrial park,the driveway to World Mark is at the very end of the road,we did question our self's once or twice wondering which driveway was World Marks. It would be very helpful if the World Mark sign was more easy to see.
When we checked in the staff was friendly, they gave us a list of attractions and fine dining. After we checked in we spoke with a fellow named Joe,who wanted to sign us up for the one hour seminar,we declined to attend as we our World Mark guests not owners and are not planing on becoming owners at this time. Joe asked us a couple more times during our stay if we wanted to attend,once again we said no.
We had a 1 bedroom suit with a pull in garage,the suit was very clean and well decorated. The TV is not HD a small problem lol,all the comforts of home were in the suit,no complaints there. The grounds to the property were very nice,pool was nice as well. The only thing we kept saying to our self's was" where are the people"? we hardly saw anyone around the ground we did see a few people near the pool once in a while. There are no activities at this resort,so if you are used to other World Mark properties that offer activities,don't be disappointed when you find nothing to do at this resort,besides lay at the pool or stay in your room. This also goes for the immediate surrounding area around the outside of the resort. Everything you do will be a drive,everything! If you are wanting to go hiking that is right outside your front door this was a bonus. But other than that you will be bored out of your mind at this resort,unless that is what you came for. We did enjoy the Arizona Mills Mall,which is about 10 minutes away by car. We would recommend this mall, plenty of great stores and very clean.
We will probably not stay at this resort again just for the simple fact that it is not what we expected,it probably would work for others who have seen Phoenix before and just want the relaxation and are not into touring the city.But for my wife and I we kind of needed more,and the surrounding area was a bit unpleasant,you will drive a lot on S. 48th Street, by unpleasant I mean the area looked a little run down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    12
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
17
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived after midnight and was impressed by the reserved private garage under our condo. The condo was spotlessly clean and cool. Nicely stocked kitchen and bath. Very spacious 2 bedroo. Fun pool area will water fountains in pools creating a cooler environment in the Arizona heat. Free coffee in the office. Nice staff, but I didn't appreciate an early morning call from the sales agent who wanted to know if we had gotten in alright. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with an RV, unaware that they would have a parking problem. We located a spot and discussed the location with security who was ok with it. The manager was not satisfied but could only suggest we take it to an rv lot where we could park it fot $30\night. He was rude, unhelpful, obnoxious, We will never return and would not recommend this facility to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was a guest of my in-
laws for this stay. I haven't stayed in a WorldMark timeshare but one other time. My overall impression was that it was nice, just not super-nice. Most everything worked and was comfortable (except the dishwasher in our unit which was broken). The biggest complaint was the air conditioning. The vents were placed so that the master bedroom was much cooler than the second bedroom. You couldn't really keep both rooms comfortable at the same time. One was too cool while the other too hot. Mildly uncomfortable in Phoenix in July.

The facility itself was great. The small fitness center was always open and even though it only had 2-3 machines, no one ever had to wait. It was always operating at capacity in the mornings. The pool area was actually quite lovely. I noticed maintenance staff working hard to keep it nice and clean. The staff seemed to be decent to me. I didn't have any of the issues with rude staff that other reviewers mentioned.

The biggest drawback of this timeshare is the location. It is oddly socked in between a big business park and the South Mountain Preserve. The South Mountain Preserve is a large and lovely park with trails and wildlife. Staying here in the summer though, we couldn't make use of the trails. The back of the units have a view of the hills, but they are so close, that you hardly have a view of the Preserve other than a close up of the hills. Things you need like restaurants, grocery stores and gas stations are a short drive away. But we found our destinations to typically be a 30-40 minute drive away.

I would go back if invited. But it might be fun to check out other WorldMark properties in the Phoenix area instead..

Room Tip: The are no elevator, only stairs for the upper units. If you have any difficulty getting your lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I had reservations at our Phoenix Worldmark timeshare for one week but we ended our stay early due to the treatment we received from the sales staff and the General Manager who would not take care of the issues we experienced. We checked into our assigned room which was located directly next to the timeshare show rooms where the sales staff was showing rooms to potential new timeshare buyers from early morning to late afternoon. Each morning we were woken by numerous groups of people visiting the show room and the sales office next door. The noise from the banging of the doors, loud conversations of sales people talking loudly on their cell phones on the rear patio (which was directly next to ours) was very inconsiderate and made our stay unbearable and so very unpleasant. We had discussed this with the General Manager several times. He informed us that he would discuss this issue with the sales team to help eliminate the problem. This problem never ceased. We even experienced people staring into the windows of our unit which was quite disturbing and un-called for. On more than one occasion, I spoke to the General Manager about this issue and he told us he would speak to the sales staff about the excessive noise and disturbances that they were creating. On the third and consecutive day of noise when one of the sales managers was speaking loud on his cell phone on the balcony right next door, we called the front desk again to ask them why this was continuing to occur and the General Manager promptly came over with a young female sales manager who proceeded to laugh at our circumstances. She was very condescending and displayed a rude attitude which the general manager never addressed. The lack of customer service was disturbing.
After calling the Worldmark Owners Care office for the third time within three days and telling them how the sales staff was reacting to our repeated requests to be more quiet (not being pro-active and condescending to their owners), we were able to check out early and get our unused timeshare points credited back to our account. Before checking out I had the opportunity to speak with the General Manager to let him know that my wife and I were very disappointed with the lack of professionalism of his sales staff with whom he promptly defended. The guest services department at this Worldmark Phoenix location could use a lot of improvement and learn how to treat their owners more effectively and professionally!
In addition, the unit we stayed in looked clean at first, but on closer examination it was obvious how dirty it really was. We found a couple of hairs on the bathroom shower walls along with filthy floors in the kitchen and living area carpeting. My wife did not even feel comfortable taking a shower let alone a bath. Our issues were not taken seriously and were not eliminated. We were happy to leave this timeshare and do not plan to return. This particular timeshare needs a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I was very concerned after reading the reviews. We had already booked and there was no going back. We were pleased to find the 2br unit very large, spacious and updated. The decor was modern, including granite counters, large tub (jets did not work), & rain style shower. Two of the three tv's were older tube style, but they were fine. The unit showed signs of shoddy repairs (paint didnt match where patch work was done...that kind of thing) but aside from the jets in the tub, those things didn't affect our stay in any way. The staff was kind and helpful. As is par for the course, the pull out sofa mattress was not great. They provided me with an extra blanket to layer under the sheets to improve the comfort level a bit. Washer and dryer are in the unit. The location is a little funky...it's set back amidst a business park area. But it seemed like we could get to anywhere we wanted to go within 15-20 minutes. Overall we were very happy with our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Okay, so the place is renovating all the units but there are way too many negatives. We have NEVER been treated so poorly in all our years of travel no matter where it has been. First, the management does NOT have a clue what customer service is. The resort use to be a condo complex that has been converted to vacation properties. Amenities are few. Coffee maker, sparse kitchen utensils and hair dryer. Currently most of the televisions are the old tube style and have cable but no chart of television stations. They do NOT change the sheets which is okay but they use 2 flat sheets instead of 1 flat and 1 fitted. They do NOT make beds or vacuum the floors. Also they do NOT tell you up from that you can get laundry soaps, shampoos, garbage bags and bar soap but asking the front desk. Had to go back to front desk 4 days in a row to FINALLY get someone to clean the bathrooms and replenish the towels. FOUR DAYS! Management told me to call them if there were problems but neither of the 2 phones worked! They said it was the phone companies problem not theirs. Really? What if there is an emergency? Carpeting stained and filthy. The air conditioning was adequate for the main living room and kitchen area but if you close the bedroom doors the a/c will not get into the bedrooms. The maintenance guy told us that RCI owns 10 of the units, a private party owns 6 and Wyndham the rest. Three owners working with 1 management company that has no clue. When I went to the front office today to complain about no towels, cleaning, etcetera, the manager was sitting in his office wearing slacks and a T shirt. What kind of professionalism is that? T shirt? I don't blame the employees as I figure the leadership from the top is poor and no one has had proper training in the hospitality industry. Even once this place is 100% remodeled the management will still have the poor attitude and lack of customers service that they do now. No restaurant, snack bar or bar on the premises. Closest restaurant is about 1 1/2 miles away as is the grocery store for your cooking needs. Would I recommend this place to anyone? NOT A CHANCE! Stay away, far away.

Room Tip: No comment. Just do yourself a favor and stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Address: 4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty lodging in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.