We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement - This Place Is Going Downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve to your Saves list
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement - This Place Is Going Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family has stayed at Desert Arroyo three years in a row, always in Feb. or March. Unfortunately we have noticed a decline in service and the state of the property each time.

Pros - The only real pro is that hiking on South Mountain is right outside your door. Restaurants and shopping nearby. You really do need a car to get around though. The pool area is small but decent.

Cons - One big annoyance of this place is you can't get internet in your room. The signal isn't strong enough, so we were constantly having to go to the lobby or pool area to use the internet. If you had a room right next to the lobby you might be okay, but this has never been the case for us.

We have always stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, and they are just okay. The carpets should have been replaced about 20 years ago. Apparently some suites have renovated kitchens but in three years we have never managed to get one.

The maintenance and service have declined each year we have stayed here. This year we had no table and only 1 patio chair on our balcony, instead of the usual 4 chairs and table. We called to ask if we could get some, as we like sitting and eating outside. We were told "No, you can't." Seriously?? So no sitting outside for us.

On this recent visit, the kitchen barely had enough utensils and dishes to allow us to prepare a meal. I attempted to hang a towel on the rack in the bathroom and it fell right out of the wall. The dresser drawers in our room wouldn't stay closed as the dresser was broken. Not one single clothes hanger to be found in our closet..... etc. etc. The list just goes on.

In the last year they cut their cleaning service - you now have to take out your own garbage, wash your own towels etc. Annoying when you are on vacation.

Two years ago on my first visit I would have recommended this place. I no longer would. There are nicer places to stay, in better areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    14
    10
    15
See reviews for
27
26
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Location is convenient to airport, shopping, Cactus League parks AND South Mountain Preserve. Fantastic hiking right outside the door. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our unit was very nice and well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We are members of Raintree Resorts which owns this property. Our trip was primarily to attend the Rock, Gem and Mineral shows in Tucson (yes it's over 100 mile drive!), but we also wanted to see the Grand Canyon and enjoy the Phoenix area.

Our unit was in the bldg closest to check in, main level, no garage - but a dedicated parking space. The unit was spacious, spotless and well appointed with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. Our patio faced the pool area and every evening there were quail and rabbits that came to feed on the grass. The units are at the end of a business/light industrial area which really has no retail offerings so you will need a car. We loved the fact that there are hiking trails you can access from the property and take advantage of the great park/trail system (and we did some geocaches there too).

Lots of restaurants and shopping just a few minutes drive. No planned activities at this resort, but a nice pool/ hot tub area and the office area had computers to use.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at this resort in early November, and we loved the spacious unit, closed in garage, and the set up was fabulous; gave us a true 'AZ desert' feeling! It was complete with a visit in our living room from a scorpion (there was an unusual drop in temp that made the wildlife a bit berserk those few days)! Management was prompt in every one of our calls, and the staff was so very helpful and responsive to our every need. i will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I hope Desert Arroyo gets it's own spot with a connection to the old one. It's under new management and is mostly renovated. Looks like this happened sometime in late 2010.

The rooms look like they have new carpets and some new furniture. We had a 1,100 square feet, 2 bedroom condo with 2 full baths, full kitchen, washer and dryer with a garage. $78 a night (have to work the web to find the best deal).

Very good value however, the place is in the middle of a commercial area so after business hours it's pretty deserted. You must have a car to drive to restaurants and a big mall although everything is within a 5-10 minute drive.

Front desk service is mediocre and the place is not a resort at all as it does not have many amenities. The pool area is well maintained and the check-in building is a bit small but well laid out. If you are checking in after 8 p.m. make sure you call well in advance to make arrangements to pick up the unit key.

The location of the property is conveniently close to Phoenix attractions. You are barely 5 minutes from the highway. A 20 minute drive will get you to Scottsdale Fashion Mall, the baseball stadium downtown or the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I didn't actually stay there, but tried to book there for a trip that I am making in November.

It's your call about the place, but be aware of their onerous "cancellation policies" before you do anything. They will charge you $67.19 simply for the process of reserving a room regardless of how long you cancel. They call this a "cancellation penalty" only in the fine print once you make the reservation. The policies give some unclear language about being "3 days prior" which means any amount of time.

I booked and canceled almost a month prior to when I will be traveling there and I got hit by this "penalty". Mind you, the reservation wasn't a "pre-paid" or anything, this is just their SOP.

I asked them about this and they stopped communicating with me. I gave the example of booking a room a year away and then canceling it five minutes later and the penalty would be assessed. This is an accurate example.

I decided to rent a house. I'm only there for three nights and it proved to be larger with a private pool and less expensive - not to mention much, much more comfortable (have you looked at their sad pictures and ratings?). If you are staying for several days or a week or more, I'd recommend that route instead of this tired, money grubbing place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

The stay was not terrible, but my expectations exceeded the reality of the hotel. We had a free stay at a five-star hotel due to a refund from a different trip, and so I assumed the room we'd have would be amazing. Well, the first room we had was okay. The master bathroom was awesome! But the rest of the room was not so great. One of my friends had to sleep on the bed in the couch. The couch bed was terrible-it was more comfortable to sleep on the floor for him. I had the master bedroom. I was about to lay on the bed when I noticed a lot of little hairs all over the bed and inside the sheets. It was a bit disturbing. Not to mention my other friend took a shower and said there was no hot water. So we switched rooms. It was a room that was supposed to be less fancy than the first, but it was much better! It was cleaner, the showers had warm water, and there were three bedrooms, all with nice beds and blankets. So my experience at the hotel was pretty average, considering the fact that it was supposed to be a five-star hotel and I started off grossed-out, and my other friends were not satisfied at first either.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge
Central City
Hotel Palomar Phoenix - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Inn Tempe
#13 of 47 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Legacy Golf Resort
#68 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Address: 4647 East Francisco Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85044 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.