We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tenderlions are hilarious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tempe Improv

The Tempe Improv
930 E. University Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85281 (Central City)
480 921 9877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Comedy Clubs
Attraction Details
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Tenderlions are hilarious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Drove from California to see The Tenderloins, if you haven't heard of them do yourself a favor and Google them and watch Impractical Jokers on TruTV Thursday nights. The venue was okay but the greeter/hostess seemed completely unorganized. As with any comedy club it was rather pricey, we upgraded to get better seats and could choose dinner or bottle service. We opted for dinner but the food was mediocre, we ended up nibbling here and there but did not eat much. This venue is large which was great and they kept it cool which is a must in Tempe summers!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comics, funny; everything else, not so funny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tempe Improv isn’t run with any common sense. We arrived hungry and thirsty but had to wait over an hour in the lobby, while in the club, there was a staff meeting that should have been scheduled on a non-business day—big profit opportunity missed. Meanwhile the lobby was filling up fast with hungry people with money in their pockets to buy food and drinks. Drinks purchased in the lobby are “not counted in your 2-drink-minimum,” so the lonely bartenders just stood there looking into the crowded lobby. Had the staff meeting been some other day, and customers were immediately seated and served food, much more food and liquor would have been sold, and profits higher that night. When the impatient crowd was finally allowed into the club all at once, orders were taken and the kitchen and bar were no doubt bombarded with orders, creating poor service, frantic, hectic staff and grumpy customers. Too bad customers were not allowed into the club upon arrival, to eat, drink and be put in good moods before the show began. One more thing: $5.75 for an 8 ounce bottle of water is just crazy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Original- back, better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

As big time comedy fans my wife and I see at least one show a month. When The Improv closed last year we lost one of the big venues to attend. But it's back! And they fixed some of the things that casual attendees will appreciate. 1- the menu is better (but let's be real- it's a comedy club, not a 4 star restaurant.) If you require great dining, eat before you go. 2- The seating is better than before. 3- The place has been really cleaned and updated. Also the balcony now is really nice. If you attend, there are 3 things you must know about comedy clubs. 1- seating is tight, they do that to create a more live environment and to keep everyone close to the performer. 2- All clubs have a two item mandatory order. 3-Service in any club can be spotty, the servers have to give service without interfering with the show. I recommend ordering 2 drinks at once if you know you want them. If you are budget minded- never order the clubs Specialty drinks- they are pricy. Just stick to standard cocktails or beer. Order buckets of beer. Then you don't have to worry about finding a server. Use the restroom before the show. Come a bit early to get a good seat. Don't get offended at jokes- it's comedy, laugh! And the most important rule ever- No Talking! Period. Quickest way to ruin someone's night is to talk, it distracts everybody! Also don't forget to fill out their cards with your info- they will email/text you with awesome deals and updates. The club can be tight upfront, if you need more room I suggest upstairs or in the back. If you are easily embarrassed- sit in the back- comics love to pick on people in the front. Love this venue, love the remodel- only thing that still stinks is the standing in line outside in the hot summer air! Viva Tempe Improv! Pablo Francisco killed it like always- seen him at least 8 times, still funny. Had about 50% new material.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good comedy at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went to the Tempe Improv to see Bob Marley with friends on a Thursday night and had a wonderful time. Bought our tickets online before the show and had no issues with that. The Improv is set up similar to Stand Up Live in Phoenix, however, it seems to me that there is a little more room in the seating area and in between rows which makes it a little more comfortable and easier for the wait staff to serve customers.

Other reviewers have complained about the two drink minimum and the prices of the drinks but what do you expect when you go to see a national headliner comedian for $17.00 to $30.00? We paid $17.00 each to see Bob Marley so I was okay with the $6.00 price tag on the beer. It was still a good night out for my wife and I for $60.00. If you feel the prices on food and drinks are too high then eat out before the show.

The wait staff was very nice to our group and I had some general questions for management and talked to the general manager and he was very nice and accommodating.

Everyone in our group would definitely visit again. The Improv is closer to the East Valley than Stand Up Live and parking is easier as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good entertainment at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to the Tempe Improv to see Kevin Nealon. We called in advance to check to see if our 19 year old daughter was able to get in; she was but we were at a 'dry' table since she was under 21 which was fine. The tickets were only $25 which we thought was great value. We ordered them on the phone and picked them up when we came for the show. We went to the early show and got right in, had a table near the front, and ordered dinner. The food was alright, but a bit pricey for what it was. The service a bit slow, but ok. We really enjoyed the show and would go again. The second show was lined up and waiting to get in after we left. Not sure I would want to wait in that line up. There wasn't much time between shows to get everyone seated the second time around. Worth the trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tempe Improv also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Tempe Improv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempe Improv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Tempe Improv to your Saves list