We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Western Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours

Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours
Phoenix, AZ
623-374-5245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 activities in Phoenix
Type: Ranchs, Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Canyon Creek Ranch is nestled on 130 breathtaking acres in Cold Water Canyon, just twenty miles north of Phoenix in Black CanyonCity, Arizona. The ranch is surrounded by 71,000 acres of National Monument land, featuring rugged hills, fantastic volcanic formations, ancient Native American petroglyphs and the Agua Fria River. The ranch offers great views of the surrounding mountains and miles of natural Sonoran desert to explore and enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
“Old Town Western Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked our visit based on recommendation from a good friend who traveled here in June. We drove down from Sedona and arrived at the Ranch with everything ready to go. My boys (ages 16, 13, and 12) had no horse experience and my husband and I have limited experience. We were all paired with appropriate horses (Clyde, Yoda, Acadia, Pal and Molly) and two fantastic wranglers (father and son team: Craig and Gabriel) and headed off into the Arizona desert. We took the late ride which started at 5pm, so even though it was hot, it was quite pleasant in the shade riding horses. Great informative ride ended at a replica of an Old West town where we refreshed in the saloon, told stories, threw tomahawks, fired 22's, lassoed and ponder what life would be like if we lived like this. We enjoyed the entire experience and highly recommend Canyon Creek for anyone who would like to experience a realistic and well organized western destination.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    18
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elwood, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun at Canyon Creek Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit. Our first visit was in 2009. The second time was even more fun than the first. Our wrangler was Chris! After having directions texted to us Chris met us at Chillens on 17. He introduced himself to us and the he guided us to the ranch thank goodness. We kept up with him on the gravel road. We were greeted by the wranglers and were quickly laughing and joking with them. They had many horses saddled up and ready to go. They matched a horse to each of us after learning what our experience levels were at riding. After some safety tips and rules we were off on our ride. Chris took my camera and got some great shots. He told us how to lean in the saddle when going uphill and downhill. He kept checking to see if everyone was ok. He was very much about our safety and concern for the horses as well. He asked us some questions along the way and taught us about what we were seeing on our ride. We did a game where you were dropped off on an island with water and tv and you had to tell what 2 drinks, 2 foods and 1 tv show we woukd want. Then we stopped at the western town and enjoyed a cold drink at the saloon. Then we had a family competiton and kept score while throwing the tomahawks, shooting the revolver, playing the horseshoe throwing game, and archery. He explained everything thoroughly and demonsrrated how to do each activity. He even challenged us. We had dinner which was amazing. The flavor of the steak and chicken is soooooooo good. You can't go wrong with either one. They are served on tin plates. Everyone was so nice and friendly. This is an amazing experience that should not be missed. We had 2 18 year old boys, 1 16 year old girl, my husband and myself. We ranged from someone who has never ridden to some with experience. All of us had an amazing experience. Thank you to our wrangler Chris!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rustic history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

go before may, when the weather is miserable. fun for the kids. interesting for adults. old country-western history. i love it every time i go!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BAMM !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Prior to arriving at our resort in Scottsdale I called the concierge to inquire about Horseback riding tours in the area. Their first choice was Canyon Creek Ranch and I can see why!!! We made reservations prior to arriving in AZ and watched the weather close (they make sure not to ride the horses in extreme heat). We initially scheduled our ride for evening, a sunset ride, but the temps in AZ were still above 100* after 5pm so we called to change it to a morning ride. Everyone was very accommodating via phone calls, emails, text and especially in person. Directions were text to my phone, and we were greeted and guided back to the ranch. All of the paperwork was taken care of prior to the ride (we did sign the waiver, and opted for no helmets and our ride was amazing).
Our guide Dube was very interactive with our family of 4, our kids thought he was funny :)
The ride was so picturesque through the desert, and Dube was able to educate us on all that was there to see. At the start of the ride, he asked if we had a camera he could use on the ride! WOW, that was amazing. He was such a shutter bug. Mom is not usually in many vacation photos, so this was a huge plus! Thanks Dube, your awesome! Also, the ride includes a stop in an Old Western town on their property, where you will play cowboy games like lasso roping, tomahawk throwing and pistol shooting. Even if you have never picked up a pistol in your life, you may end up being the sharp shooter of the day!!! BAMM! Very fun and very Arizonian! Thank you Canyon Creek for these precious memories! Mom, Dad, Travis (16), and Kayla (12)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Canyon Creek Ranch experience is a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from Sedona to Phoenix on a Sunday afternoon in July and made an impromptu call to Canyon Creek Ranch. Opal and Rich were very accommodating!

We met Rich, our Cowboy, at the Chilleen's on 17 and headed towards the ranch. Our group included five adults and two boys (10 and 12 years old). We had a blast!!! The tomahawk toss and bow & arrow were our favorites. Rich was wonderful at keeping the boys engaged and having fun. The adults really enjoyed themselves too. We highly recommend it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours to your Saves list