We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day with awesome wrangler!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours

Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours
Phoenix, AZ 85257
623-374-5245
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canyon Creek Ranch is nestled on 130 breathtaking acres in Cold Water Canyon, just twenty miles north of Phoenix in Black CanyonCity, Arizona. The ranch is surrounded by 71,000 acres of National Monument land, featuring rugged hills, fantastic volcanic formations, ancient Native American petroglyphs and the Agua Fria River. The ranch offers great views of the surrounding mountains and miles of natural Sonoran desert to explore and enjoy.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome day with awesome wrangler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful day with wrangler Joe C. He was very personable and made the day so enjoyable. Always aware of safety and added extra tips to riding. A wonderful lunch in Old Town, fun day of roping,hatchet throwing and trying our luck at being a "gun slinger". We even got to hear a special poem written by Joe C. This was the highlife of our AZ vacation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    20
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Took some time to figure out the meeting place, but no big worries. The staff there are so friendly. Nice view riding on the horse and the town was full of fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horseback ride with Joe C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My father, brother and I were looking for a ride through the desert and found western destinations online with favourable reviews. The setting, horses, old town activities and sights were all great. Still, it was the guide - Joe C - that made the day. He educated us on the landscape, the many types of cactus and shared his cowboy experiences. A day we won't forget and when back in Phoenix we will certainly go back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jeep Tour of Desert was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Canyon Creek Ranch Jeep tour of Desert with Cowboy Rusty and Cowboy Zac was fantastic! We had their undivided attention for about 4 hours. They took us through the desert with many stops to learn about the cacti, They answered our questions and taught us a lot. We stopped and while describing jumping cactus, even cut one open for us to eat! We went up and down the hills and had a great ride in unforgettable scenery. Rusty was very personable and no question went unanswered. After the desert tour, he took us to the Old West Town for refreshments and our hand at a few western games. It was very interesting, with lots of artifacts to explore. Would definitely recommend this trip to friends and strangers alike!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canyon Creek Horseback Rides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We chose the horseback rides at Canyon Creek Ranch for our ten year anniversary gift to eachother. Our awesome guide was Joe C, a cowboy through and through. I was a little nervous on the horse at first, but that didn't last very long. Joe made sure I was comfortable and felt safe. We had a great time riding to a little western village, where Joe took us shooting, roping and hatchet throwing and we enjoyed a great meal. Joe was very knowledgable on history, desert vegetation and we learned a lot! Joe had some great stories. We would definitely do this again and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun filled adventurous day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Destinations Canyon Creek Ranch - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.