We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Red Velvet Cake!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Orange Grocery

La Grande Orange Grocery
4410 N 40th St, Phoenix, AZ 85018-4145 (Camelback East)
(602) 840-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,426 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love the Red Velvet Cake!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Cute little grocery with amazing baked goods! Must try the Red Velvet cake!!! Any time I am in the area, I stop in just for the cake!!! One of the best pieces of cake I have EVER eaten!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    68
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Bakery, pizza, sandwiches, salads, grocery items too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stopped in for a look after dinner nearby and were very impressed with offerings--especially the bakery items which included gluten free offerings! My wife says the gf chocolate cookie is like a delicious brownie, and she is looking forward to the lemon bar tomorrow! i bought a ginger cookie and found it to be delicious. Great variety of ginger flavors in a moist inside, crisp outside cookie.

We also bought a chocolate croissant and chocolate scone for the road tomorrow and a bag of their famous English muffins. They are amazingly soft and toast up perfectly for buttering. Don't know that i have ever had the equal. Amazing texture!

Sampled a couple of gelatos, and they too were delicious. Wish we had room to take some of the prepackaged salads too, as they looked fresh and delicious.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Looking forward to next visit. Oh. Breakfast items go on sale for half price after 3 p.m. Very nice to get scones and croissants for half price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All the Cool People Hang at LGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Casual, groovy, a little noisy. Great people watching--especially beautiful moms with babies and lean 40-somethings in bike shorts. Also guys with cowboys hats and laptops, and the rest of us who die for their sourdough English muffin breakfast sandwiches. Get "The Commuter Sandwich" and you'll be searching for it's equal everywhere else you go. Fresh juices, great coffee. Really healthy stuff like kale salads and diet-breakers like giant salted chocolate chip cookies. The music is so good you will want to turn on your Shazam. It's a bit hard to park in the tiny lot in front, but around back they have a free valet (don't forget to tip). If it's mild out, you can sit at a table under a tree with other people's friendly dogs beside you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“"INSIPIDE"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After residing 22 years in the valley of the sun (or the wasteland of American culinary culture), I have concluded that it really doesn't take much to impress the locals, actually very little is needed. "La grande Orange " is the perfect illustration of my theory....It is not Fauchon or Harrods, it is barely a village store in Europe, but in Phoenix, this place becomes magical...no, no, Mystical !!! Pizzas, salads and overpriced imported goods translate into the Xanadu of fine foods....When you enter this place, it is simply chaotic, not mentioning the parking situation, a catastrophy in itself !!! I sampled one of the salads, and it was fair, not transcendental....The wine selection is snotty, lots of " boutique" nonsense, serving the ego of the wine steward, without any proper discriminating selection....Living in a tide pool, you soon forget about the sea...This place needs more than it offers, but for Phoenix...it will do fine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great brunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our first stop on our trip visiting Phoenix. Great choice to experience the funky fun foodie side of Phoenix. Lots of great menu items to choose from. Healthy options as well as down right decadent! Enjoyed the shop with artsy books and items. Be sure to check out the whimsical mural as you enter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Orange Grocery also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Grande Orange Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Orange Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.