We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, Fun and Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Orange Grocery

La Grande Orange Grocery
4410 N 40th St, Phoenix, AZ 85018-4145 (Camelback East)
(602) 840-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 2,595 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Casual, Fun and Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was in town for a few days and stumbled onto this place using the "Near Me Now" tool on the Trip Advisor app... once again, Trip Advisor led me to a great eating experience!

As other reviewers have mentioned, it took me a little while to figure out what was happening around me... (at the risk of losing my "Man Card", I asked one of the waitresses for some tips on how to proceed and what I should order). I had a breakfast sandwich and my sister ordered a gluten-free pizza (The Padre... recommended by the staff, not on the menu anymore, but you can still order it)... both were excellent! We are not gluten-free eaters, but the waitress and two people in line in front of us both recommended that crust. I now know why!

The atmosphere is fun and casual... people riding their bikes up... a steady stream of people in and out of the place. It's a coffee shop, breakfast place, lunch spot, and a dinner bar/restaurant. I will be back to try other menu choices!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    62
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, great atmosphere,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

And don't forget the bakery items, usually very good. The Grande Orange is always one of the first stops when we visit Phoenix. The somewhat deli approach is not quite Zingerman's in Ann Arbor, but the food is always fresh, well prepared and a great value. Seating can be a little hectic but there is always in one of the rooms.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Whatta crust! Delicious avocado, mushroom/carmelized onion and Gladiator pizzas. Never had a bad pie there. Oh, and get the Sonoma salad-- to die for! (It's usually only in the to-go bins, but the waitstaff has been good about serving it in the dining room as well.) The only problem is the small parking lot and the wait on the weekends. It tastes just as good at home, though :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our go-to casual spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great service and atmosphere... Always a great deal too. No corkage fee when you buy from the grocery, excellent pizza (the avocado with added marinara and ricotta is our fave). Their pimento dip and salted choc chip cookies are to die for. Their breakfasts are fabulous, too! If it wasn't so far from home, I'd be here several times a week! The grocery is also a great place to buy unique gifts. Wish we had more places like this on the north side of town...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must stop visit in Scottsdale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Don't settle for a boring breakfast at your hotel....or god forbid, Dennys. And definitely don't have lunch at a fast food restaurant because you can't find anything "quick".

Stop here and eat. Great staff. Great environment. Great vibe.

As you enter from the rear entrance after you drop your car off at their free valet, you feel like you've mistaken walked into their kitchen. You have. But everyone greets you like you've been coming daily for the last year.

The place is a cross between a quirky curiosity store for foodies and a food stand right out of Portlandia. Crafted sandwiches and beers for sale and a fun coffee shop area to sit and eat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Orange Grocery also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Grande Orange Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Orange Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.