We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want an authentic Phoenix experience? Go to ponchos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poncho's Mexican Food

Poncho's Mexican Food
7202 S Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85042-5425 (South Mountain)
602-276-2437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #719 of 2,595 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: South Mountain
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South Mountain
1 review
“Want an authentic Phoenix experience? Go to ponchos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Can't believe anyone would give this place a bad review... I'm a Canadian, and looove great Mexican food, I've tried all the chains here, many independent places and a bunch of dives... This is my #1 place overall... Great busy atmosphere, outstanding food,vibe and culture... I'll be bringing out of town friends here for a taste of Phoenix!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Celebrating 40 years of serving decent Mexican fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Poncho's is not in one of the more glamorous areas of Phoenix but nonetheless still has a following from throughout the area for those "in the know" of where to find some pretty decent Mexican food. And they must be doing something right as they are celebrating 40 years in business this year. Poncho's is also proud of the nostalgic fact that some 13 years ago then President Clinton visited for a meal while hanging out with the common folk. Indeed, the table where he sat displays a wall mural depicting him sitting there and on the opposite wall another mural of the secret service agent standing guard over him in what is now defined as the Presidente dining room area of the restaurant! Service is friendly and prompt despite our arrival at peak dinner time on a Friday night with no reservations. This restaurant offers your typical Mexican fare of various burros, tacos, enchiladas, tamales and the like. Nothing too original or anything defined as a "signature dish", just standard albeit consistent offerings. The only complaint our party had was that the salsa was mediocre and lacked any spicy punch or heat and when we asked for something hotter or perhaps a bottle of hot sauce they could not honor the request. In a town of many Mexican restaurants to choose from you cannot go wrong with Poncho's and it is worth the visit and the maybe out of the way drive for anyone looking for a Mexican food fix.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“stay far, far away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

this is not Mexican food... I am not too sure exactly what it is... I grew up in AZ and g=have eaten at tons of Mexican food places but not this one ever again... I am still recovering... I should be back on solid foods by Tuesday (that part is a joke - the rest is 100% true)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A family tradition since 1975”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I remember when it was just a take-out window across from the Silver Dollar Drive-In.

I'm living in Atlanta now, but I get serious cravings for the red chili, specifically the red chili burro, enchilada style with extra sauce and extra lettuce.

Also, do not take the cheese crisp for granted. It is a wonder to behold.

Don't fill up on chips.

I really, really miss Ponchos and if I could transplant the place to Atlanta, I would. They could put it at the end of my driveway.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“Ponchos... Flavours of Mexico - Tantalisingly Spicy Taste Sensation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Ponchos is a place that radiates heat in more ways than one. It has a simple yet captivating ambiance - absolutely unique... quirky and cute. The first thing you gotta do is order a huge jug of Margarita... strawberry and Lime combined together in a swirl. We then went for a Mexican platter filled with tasty nibbles... chilli poppers were absolutely gorgeous, mozzarella stuffed peppers, battered and deep fried. Bring on the Burritos, Nachos and Tacos... all bursting with authentic Mexican spices... fried beans, guacamole and Fajitas... In between, more Margaritas... yes please. Loved it. Miss it - a lot!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poncho's Mexican Food also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Poncho's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poncho's Mexican Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.