We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesn't feel like a chain...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Grill

Bluewater Grill
1720 E. Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85016-4005 (Camelback East)
602-277-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 16 Street
Description: Formerly the Fish Market, the new Bluewater Grill in Phoenix is the first Arizona location of a popular Southern California family of restaurants known for exceptionally fresh seafood, stylish interiors and a year-long calendar of seasonal tastings and special events. Lunch and dinner menus feature more than 40 varieties of fresh seafood and shellfish sourced from local fishermen and farmers worldwide.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“doesn't feel like a chain...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

GREAT food and Great service.
If I had not researched this place would have guessed it was an independent restaurant.
The sushi wasn't the best but the quality but it still tasted good.
I highly recommend their Mussels!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Ulcickas, Owner at Bluewater Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
NailMark,
Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share your experience on TA. Your level of detail will definitely help us to address areas we can improve...we always take constructive feedback and use it to improve! We truly appreciate it and will post this for our staff. Thank you again. We have multiple locations but run the totally independently so we avoid being perceived as a chain.
Very SIncerely,
Jim U
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did not live up to hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Five of us ate here for Mother's Day. My Mother had been raving about this place so we surprised her and made the hour drive there. Reservations were for 2 and we were seated promptly- as the restaurant was not that busy at all. Took almost 10 minutes to get first drinks. After first round of drinks was finished for several minutes - no waitress stopped by to offer a second. We stacked our empty glasses at the end of the table and they sat there for over 5 minutes longer. Waitress overlooked the empty glasses and offered more water. We had to bring it to her attention that we wanted another round of beers/soda.
Waitress recommended the barramundi special which was okay- nothing special- could not taste the flavor of the fish nor the coconut in the jasmine rice. As I said- nothing to rave about. Another family member had the Cioppini to which the waitress suggested pasta to go with the dish. My nephew agreed to have the pasta- he never received the pasta yet the charge was on our tab. Two other family members had the fisherman's platter and both were very disappointed in the shrimp and scallops. Neither had any taste and the shrimp were chewy. We did make mention to the waitress about the forgotten pasta which she said she would bring out but never did. Also, she said a manager would be over to discuss the fisherman's platter with us as my Mom- the guest of honor had the fisherman's platter. He did come and bring new scallops but honestly- they did not taste any better. They never apologized or made mention that they removed my Mom's dish from the tab. We did not ask to have it removed - we just wanted the delicious seafood we had been hearing about. So I feel it did not match up to the hype that had been made and certainly not worth a long drive to go to. Service was blah and food was mediocre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Ulcickas, Owner at Bluewater Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Suze,
So sorry you found our food and service lacking. We generally get much higher marks from Trip Advisor users so I truly apologize. We are not perfect and sometimes we fail like your case...perhaps the Mother's Day crush the staff was preparing for caused us to miss the mark.
Please accept our apologies and give us another try.
Very Sincerely,
Jim U
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of our very favorite restaurants. The fish is always perfectly done, and the service could not be better. We have never had less than a wonderful meal here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Ulcickas, Owner at Bluewater Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
KAC
Thanks for your business and the great review! Please say hi next time you are in...
Jeff Martineau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The clam chowder was awesome! The seafood was fresh and delicious. Service was perfect! I enjoyed eating outside, but the view was a bit lacking...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Eats for Sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of my go-to spots for seafood. Never disappointed. The clam chowder is full of "meat" and always steaming hot. Excellent for fresh fish selections. I'm getting hungry just writing this...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Grill also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bluewater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.