We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Popo's Fiesta Del Sol

Popo's Fiesta Del Sol
6542 W Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85033-3329
623-846-2636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 2,565 restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Popo's at 59th Ave and Bell Road

It's nice to have a great mexican food restaurant in the neighborhood!! The green chile is excellent and everything was served nice and hot. Service was very good and we felt very welcome even though we stayed and talked long after finishing our meal.

If you haven't been there and you are in the area you have to try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    27
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in the Valley!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Popo's has replaced Frank & Lupe's of Scottsdale as my favorite Mexican food in the Valley. I had the monster burrito, it was big as my head! And the quality was matched by their quantity! Don't fill up on the chips and salsa as hard as it may be but if you can't, prepare yourself for a to-go box!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Its been a month I moved to Phoenix now and was looking to try out mexican food. I didn't know about this place it just appeared on my left hand when driving with friends and we decided to walk-in. To my surprise the parking lot was full and I said "Yes... this place is worth to try out"
it was a wonderful atmosphere, salsa was too good, I was abl to taste the oil in the chips so was not happy with that.
I had a fish burrito with rice and beans. The rice they serve is amazing. It has a great taste, haven't had such rice at any mexican place.
And of course the frozen Margaritta Cheers!!!
I'd love to visit again

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have been eating at Popo's for over 20 years and it is always good. They have great salsa and the best machaca. Great cheese crisps too.
It is still family run by Mario and his wife and you know they care.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Popos salsa is addictive!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

You know you've found a fantastic restaurant when someone in your family calls and yells, "There's a new Popo's on Bell Road!!!!!!" We have gone to the original Popo's for over 40 years but when we moved it became quite a drive. Popo's is always the first request made by family members who have moved out of Arizona! Thus, the opening of the new and closer Popo's was a very happy event indeed! Salsa is awesome--in fact if you see someone eating it out of the salsa bowl with a spoon like soup it's probably me! Food is incredible and the staff friendly and helpful. Weekends do tend to bring a wait, but, believe me, my friends, it's worth it! The seating capacity is large so that helps move people in and out in a goodly manner. Living in the Southwest we've eaten in a lot of different Mexican restaurants but Popo's has never been pushed out as our number "uno" favorite! While the original Popo's still is one of our favorites, the area around it, Indian School Road and 65th Ave has become scary at times and down right dangerous at others. A day time visit is fine but personally we tend to limit our visits to the original Popo's during the evenings. Thus the celebration in Popo's Fiesta Del Sol!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popo's Fiesta Del Sol also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Popo's Fiesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popo's Fiesta Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.