We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must sit at the Sushi Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shogun Restaurant

Shogun Restaurant
12615 N Tatum Blvd, Phoenix, AZ 85032-7710 (Paradise Valley)
(602) 953-3264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #474 of 2,563 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Paradise Valley
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Must sit at the Sushi Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been going for years to Shogun. The sushi is very good. There are a number of "off-menu" items. Just ask. The Sunshine roll is a favorite. Fresh tuna mixed with sriracha and mayo on top of a crab roll. Yumm! The suicidal spider is also good. Make sure to finish with the Vegas Roll. The little kids love the "PB&J Roll."
Warning: Your service declines significantly if you expect to be served sushi in the dining room. The servers have to cajole the sushi chefs into making their sushi orders. This last time it took forever to get our order. Just sit at the sushi bar if you can. The chef will serve you directly and quickly.
The wait staff is hit or miss here. I have seen servers switch tickets to get their sushi made earlier. The management is lacking.

BUT, the sushi is amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Amazing portions and excellent prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am going to guess that the regulars are not reviewing to keep the crowds down! However, I must admit this is my favorite sushi place in the Tucson area. I would not say they have the "best" sushi, but definitely the best value and for me, atmosphere. I enjoy Shogun and they always give amazing portions. Each data they have special rolls that are 1/2 price. The saki bomb prices are outstanding. Give it a try, just not too often as I hate crowds (smile).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Custom made sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I love sushi and Shogun is close to our home. The last time we wnet to Shogun, we sat at the sushi bar. We told the sushi chef what we wanted and he made a special sushi roll for us. Some of the best sushi we ever had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ohh, the quail egg shooter !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went with friends, who are regulars and weren't disappointed. I haven't eaten a lot of sushi - mainly pre-made rolls, and this fresh stuff was just great. Tina, Wahu and Yellowtail were really, really good. Also , ask for the Big Johnson - tuna and eel roll in an interesting shape.....
It was my birthday and I had to chug a Quail egg shooter (half a wine glass) - Sake, soy sauce, chile sauce and sesame seeds - WHOA ! I even got a birthday candle in desert.
Over all, a really great night with great food !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst Japanese Restaurant in Phoenix”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I don't like writing bad reviews on any restaurant, but after trying this place several times, I have to vote it the worst Japanese Restaurant I've ever eaten at. They advertise it as "the best sushi in town." Hmmm! Not even close! As a matter of fact, dead last. Their sushi is the most lacking in variety and flavor than any place else. For those of you whom are sushi connoisseurs, you know that there are many great sushi restaurants in metro Phoenix that offer a wonderful variety of all types of delicious sushi, sashimi and rolls. Do not come here for the sushi for you'll be sadly disappointed. They used to have a special dish they bragged up called, Lobster Dynamite. I was so looking forward to trying that! It's nothing more than...well...the only descriptive word I can come up with is "slop." It's in this little homemade tin foil dish, it's oily with tiny bits of lobster in it. Yuck is all I can say! There are clearly no sushi chefs in that kitchen! I'm sure they must only hire more low end cooks. The test to any good Japanese restaurant is that there has to be sushi chefs in the kitchen.

The restaurant really does have a lovely decor and ambiance. For that, I give it very high marks. I have tried a couple other menu items, but again, the food is just so so. It seems to be fairly busy every time I've gone, so some people like it anyway. I guess it's just a matter of opinion!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun Restaurant also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Shogun Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shogun Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.