We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar
105 W Portland St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1436
602 795 7480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good place to stop in for wine or cocktails before downtown events.
Always enjoy the food when coming in for dinner :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan B, Owner at Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We appreciate the feedback & hope to see you again soon,
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Amazing Menu in Roosevelt District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I lived in the building that Portland's restaurant is in for seven years. The quality of the food and service at Portland's is always excellent. I recommend the Eggplant Napoleon, however you will not be disappointed with any of their menu selections. When friends and family visit this is our favorite stop downtown. We made reservations for my Cousin's birthday at noon, and their children loved the dessert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan B, Owner at Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review! Glad the birthday worked out well & everyone enjoyed themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Roosevelt District's Flagship Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perfect location right on Central and the light rail stop. I think of the restaurant as the "flagship" of the food establishments in the Roosevelt Historic District--one of my favorite places in Phoenix. I always prefer to patronize locally owned businesses. For me the draw is the wine bar. Good selection without being overwhelming. I've enjoyed a glass of wine and appetizer or meal alone and with friends,and always receive attentive service and made to feel welcome. My one complaint is the hours, which means I have to plan to go there. Since it does not open till 5:00 pm, I frequently will go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan B, Owner at Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for comments. We recently changed our Happy Hour to start at 4:30pm if that interests you. We appreciate the comments. We hope to see you soon,
Dylan & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Great Location! Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I love the Roosevelt area - just being in this area is enough reason in itself to stop by. The food, atmosphere and staff are additional reasons to stop by for an evening.
Sitting out on the patio, watching the train, cars and people go by while sipping a good beer. is part of a relaxing evening, Just a side note, REALLY good ice cream is next door at the Fair Trade Cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan B, Owner at Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate the comments. We hope to see you soon,
Dylan & Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheers with Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We take the light rail to a convenient stop in front of Portlands. Happy hour is nice, staff very friendly. When they have live music, very crowded but fun. We take out of town guests there frequently - everyone likes the food and attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan B, Owner at Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the great comments. We appreciate the nice review & hope to see you soon,
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland's Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.