We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor's Chowder House

Taylor's Chowder House
3538 W Calavar Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85053-5513
602-978-1815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 2,642 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you are looking for a pretentious dining experience, this isn't it. Generous portions of tasty seafood with good service is all you will get here. A couple of haters below, don't know what happened to them.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Attn: Cape Codders - Best New England style seafood restaurant in AZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This place is second to none for New England style seafood in AZ. It is the only place where they serve fried clams with the bellies and they are delicious. Great chowder, scallops, shrimp and fish from all over the country are available. One bite, close your eyes, and you will think that you are back on the Cape. This place is that special. The prices are reasonable and the quantity is more than sufficient. The restaurant may be a bit dated but real seafood lovers will really like this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honest-to-God fried clams, just like the ones I had as a kid on Cape Cod!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The seafood is excellent at Taylor's! I spent my summers as a kid on Cape Cod and Martha's Vineyard, and got spoiled on the best seafood in the world there. I have been very disappointed by most of the seafood I've had in other parts of the country since then. But when I tasted my first Ipswich fried clam at Taylor's, I was brought back 40 years to my days as a boy on the Cape! My wife is a seafood lover as well and also loves Taylor's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just like in New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Agree with the posting titled "Massachusetts in Arizona." I'm from Massachusetts and the seafood here was just as tasty as some seafood I had back home. A fine selection of wine and beer as well. The service was pretty good, and the noise level in the restaurant was low, making dinner even more enjoyable. I've recommended it to other people, and wish I had gone here more than once. It is excellent seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service so bad, didn't want the food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I got there at noon yesterday (12/04/13) for my first time. Walked in and it was only about 1/3 full. There was no sign to say seat yourself or wait to be seated. So, just in case I stood there...and I stood there...and I stood there. I saw one waitress walking about helping seated customers, but she never even acknowledged that I was there. So, in the end I moved to an open table and before I could sit down she now said something to me for the first time..."Is there something I can help you with?" I replied "I wasn't sure if I was to wait to be seated or to just sit down." She stated "I'm going to ask you to wait over by the door again as I have 5 tables already ahead of you." So, I went to the door and left and ate at "The Cod Father's" instead. I was not asking to be served food ahead of anyone; I was expecting to be acknowlegded that I was there and that my patronage/money was welcome to be spent there. It NEVER will be now.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Chowder House also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Taylor's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.