We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest-to-God fried clams, just like the ones I had as a kid on Cape Cod!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor's Chowder House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taylor's Chowder House
3538 W Calavar Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85053-5513
602-978-1815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #546 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
1 review
“Honest-to-God fried clams, just like the ones I had as a kid on Cape Cod!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The seafood is excellent at Taylor's! I spent my summers as a kid on Cape Cod and Martha's Vineyard, and got spoiled on the best seafood in the world there. I have been very disappointed by most of the seafood I've had in other parts of the country since then. But when I tasted my first Ipswich fried clam at Taylor's, I was brought back 40 years to my days as a boy on the Cape! My wife is a seafood lover as well and also loves Taylor's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just like in New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Agree with the posting titled "Massachusetts in Arizona." I'm from Massachusetts and the seafood here was just as tasty as some seafood I had back home. A fine selection of wine and beer as well. The service was pretty good, and the noise level in the restaurant was low, making dinner even more enjoyable. I've recommended it to other people, and wish I had gone here more than once. It is excellent seafood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service so bad, didn't want the food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I got there at noon yesterday (12/04/13) for my first time. Walked in and it was only about 1/3 full. There was no sign to say seat yourself or wait to be seated. So, just in case I stood there...and I stood there...and I stood there. I saw one waitress walking about helping seated customers, but she never even acknowledged that I was there. So, in the end I moved to an open table and before I could sit down she now said something to me for the first time..."Is there something I can help you with?" I replied "I wasn't sure if I was to wait to be seated or to just sit down." She stated "I'm going to ask you to wait over by the door again as I have 5 tables already ahead of you." So, I went to the door and left and ate at "The Cod Father's" instead. I was not asking to be served food ahead of anyone; I was expecting to be acknowlegded that I was there and that my patronage/money was welcome to be spent there. It NEVER will be now.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Massachusetts in Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an authentic New England restaurant in Phoenix. When we moved from Mass to Phoenix, we were told that we needed to try it. That was 25 years ago, and we still eat there! Were just there the other day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Been there forever, but why are they in business?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has been in Phoenix almost as long as I have, but why? Their food was horrible! We had stuffed fish, which normally is crusty and savory but what they offer is stuffed with tasteless mushy mystery stuff. It was supposed to have lobster and crab, but none was found. Not only that, but we paid almost $15 for one meal and it didn't even include a salad. Really? How is this place still in business?

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Chowder House also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Taylor's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.