We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School But Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockyards Restaurant

Stockyards Restaurant
5009 E Washington St, Ste 115, Phoenix, AZ 85034 (Camelback East)
+1 602-273-7378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stockyards Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 2,634 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 48th St
Transit: The closest light rail stop is at 44th St and Washington, and is 7/10ths of a mile from the restaurant.
Description: In 1947, The Stockyards, Arizona's Original Steakhouse opened its doors for the first time with a menu focused solely on its historical past; beef. Staying true to its heritage, the menu continues to feature only the finest corn-fed, aged steaks.
Avon, CT
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
“Old School But Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had dinner at the Stockyards our first night in Phoenix last week. It has been a local institution since 1947 and is just the kind of classic steak house I like to seek out and enjoy. It is located where giant feedlots once existed, though the stockyards are long gone. The restaurant has a western and ranching theme with lots of old photos and artwork throughout.

The food is very good, and reasonably priced. I enjoyed prime rib which is available in 3 sized portions along with a delicious fresh salad, baked potato and a side order of "cowboy beans" in a tangy sauce with cilantro - unique. It was not the #1 prime rib I have ever had, but was delicious. My wife had ruby red trout from Idaho. She really liked it and thought it was very fresh. We had a bottle of St, Francis Red Zinfandel, which at $50.00 was a bit steep, but loved it.Our waiter was a native of Phoenix and had worked at Stockyards for many years. Good person and good waiter and we enjoyed his banter. All in all, a really good dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    72
    28
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm & Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Stockyards has been here in Phoenix since it was a major cattle center so there is much history of it hanging on their walls. It has old time charm and the food it always good. They are well known for their steaks. If you are not into steaks their menu has many other choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old -fashioned Elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The dining room is one where we were able to carry on and hear a conversation. Our meal began with a complimentary relish tray, home made flaky biscuits with agave syrup laced whipped butter. All service was efficient and all servers were well trained and efficient. Our salads were fresh and the seafood Basque enjoyed by one of our party was fragrant.

Our meals arrived in just the right length of time and the presentation was excellent. Most sides included mashed potatoes. The liver and onions was served on a bed of mashed potatoes. One member of our party opted for mashed sweet potatoes but found it strange that his liver and onions along with the brown gravy were served on top of the sweet potatoes.

Desserts were a nice conclusion to our meals. The pecan pie was e excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We finally made it to The Stockyards & were pleased we did. The decor is that of a steakhouse with a western theme. I had the house salad, and prime rib with sweet potato mash. Hubby had the Wild West Mixed Grill which consisted of elk medallions, walleyed pike & wild boar & venison sausage with sides. My prime rib was cooked to perfection & I felt large for the small cut. Hubby went on & on about his meal, actually saying it is one of the best meals he has had. I was pleased that Page Cellars and AZ Stronghold wines are offered on the wine list. This is a rare treat to find in an AZ restaurant. The service was excellent, food delicious, prices reasonable and portions generous. A true AZ gem. Be sure to check out the bar on the way out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It will be pricey. A group of ten of us went for lunch and it was an easy $500. The 12oz mignon(medium) was a bit rubbery but edible. The ribeye(medium) was a much better selection. The onion ring appetizer tasted like they were over cooked in old frying oil. The shrimp cocktail was $16 for about five king shrimp and not really worth the price. The mashed potatoes were nothing special and tasted like a last minute side.This place is for special occasions or if you are using a company charge card. I would assume the dinner would be much better since it will be more expensive. Just be aware that you are paying for the enviornment and the "status" of being able to eat there. Happy eating and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockyards Restaurant also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Stockyards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockyards Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.