We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay and play plus you get to eat at Ditka's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15091 South Komatke Lane, Phoenix, AZ 85339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
The Atomic Punks
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and play plus you get to eat at Ditka's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

OK a stay-cation may not be everyone's favorite vacation but they can be more affordable. Over the past 6 weeks we have taken advantage of this casino's offer of a free stay in the hotel on 3 Wednesdays every other week. We choose Wednesday as thats the day Marty & The Party performs in the lounge from 4 to 7 PM. From 9 PM to 1 AM a different band performs.

Very much enjoyed the music and the dance floor is always full. Happy hour prices on the drinks an added plus. Ditka's fine dining offers happy hour prices at 5 PM in the bar and has $3 beer and wine and $5 martini's plus most of their appetizers are happy hour priced at only $5.00. We enjoyed filet magnon sliders, calamari, pot roast nachos and more.

They have a 24/7 cafe/restaurant with a great $4 breakfast served all the time. This casino hotel opened one year ago with the addition of the hotel. Nice pool, beautiful rooms, awesome flat screen giant TV's in each room. Tons of covered parking keeps your car out of the Arizona sun. Located just 9 miles south of I-10 and 51st Ave.

We are going back soon to see a Journey tribute band in their theater. Lots of slots and table games plus a food court with Dunkin Donuts, Fat Burger, Panda Express, Mexican tortas (sandwiches).

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, although all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The last time that I had been to Vee Quiva was about two years ago - and that was prior to their extensive remodeling and the addition of their new hotel. They've done an excellent job! The hotel is fairly out-of-the-way, but I opted to stay here when in Phoenix because I had receive an offer for a free night's stay. Overall, my stay was pleasant and comfortable. The staff was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Check in was handled by Elaine, who is arguably one of the most helpful and customer-focused hotel staff that I have ever encountered in over 3 decades of frequent travel. She made an extra effort to procure for me my preferred room type, which was not available when I booked my original reservation, and, after a bit of work, was able to check me into my preferred room. She really views hotel guests as guests, not "customers," and her can-do attitude and enthusiasm for her job are contagious. I mention this here, because it's great to arrive at a hotel after a long day of travel and to be greeted by a person who wants to really take care of their guests, and she deserves recognition for her care and concern.

The rooms themselves are of a modern motif, with a large flat-screen, wall mounted TV, ample work space, extremely comfortable beds - among the best I've ever had in any hotel at any price - and spotless. It was also quite quiet, which was a pleasant surprise, considering that it is part of a casino complex, which, by its very nature, can be noisy and attract noisy guests. The bathroom was well appointed with thirsty towels, a large, walk-in glass shower, with plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The casino is adjacent and is up to date with a wide selection of slot machines and gaming devices, and a good assortment of table games. Casino staff, for the most part, are helpful and pleasant. A wide variety of dining options, from fast food in a food court to Ditka's steak house are available, as is a decent coffee shop that is open 24 hours a day.

Drive time from the Phoenix airport to the casino is about 25 minutes in light traffic - I-10 to 51st Avenue, then south.

The only issue that I encountered was that the wi-fi signal in my room was too weak to ensure a reliable, consistent connection. Whether or not this is a problem elsewhere in the hotel, I don't know, but I mention it here for completeness. I did mention it to the front desk when I checked out, and they seemed a bit surprised when I reported it.

Overall - great place to stay if you're in the area and enjoy casinos.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights this week and found the hotel to be a wonderful surprise. The room was so well appointed with a 50" TV, rich furniture, a very comfortable king bed and nice linens. The bathroom was modern and large. And it was very, very clean. We were given a standard room on the 3rd floor that overlooked a green area and the pool. The check in went flawlessly and the lady at the front desk was so nice. We asked for a small fridge to keep my husband's meds cool and she waived the $10 per night fee. That was so considerate.

The casino was nice. Lots of machines and the bars were great. The large bar has a wonderful open patio with lots of seating. The pool was a little small but fine. We enjoyed the restaurants but we did not eat at Ditka's.

Everyone we met was very friendly and overall the stay was an A+. We will return.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor gives you a nice view as long as your room faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed with a free night. Going again this weekend, and looking forward to it!! The bed is super comfy. The rooms are very up-to-date and luxurious. We had dinner, breakfast, and lunch at the cafe. The BLT is terrific!!! They could use a few more servers in the Cafe (as this seems to be the most popular place to eat), but the servers we had we all very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a great place to stay. We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both times. Rooms are great and the check in staff is very friendly. Had breakfast and dinner at the resturant and both meals where good. all and all it is a great place to stay for an over night get away. We will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent a free night at this hotel ate at Ditkas and gambled. Ditkas was very good, the room was nice and the staff was very friendly. If you gamble the blackjack tables are not friendly, the slots seemed to be a bit better my wife did very well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was put on the wait-list at this 90-room boutique hotel and did not get a room until 1:30 AM in the morning. Fortunately, the staff more than made up for it with a free upgrade to a suite and ebullient customer-service.

The room itself was just fantastic: state-of-the-art television, hand-painted art-work, large balcony area and beds so comfortable you wish you owned one and were terminal. There is a large, opaque plate glass window the separates the shower with in ceiling steam heaters and 5 - count them five - showers heads.

With all that said, the one thing this place does not have going for it is a view: while you may luck out and look out at a first-floor (where all the suites are) view of the pool, you are more likely to just be starting out at a parking lot or dirt hill that flank the property on either side. Furthermore, the location of this property is in the Southwest part of Metro Phoenix - arguably the least desirable quadrant of the Valley of the Sun - and far away from anything interesting.

The casino is small but complete with several bars, eateries of different price-points and a full casino. There are three Gila River Casino properties in Arizona and (sorry Wild Horse) while this one may not be the biggest it is the best!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino

Address: 15091 South Komatke Lane, Phoenix, AZ 85339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino features an unprecedented combination of stunning Frank Lloyd Wright inspired architecture, high-end service and spectacular amenities. The spacious 70,000 square foot gaming floor is stocked with 950 hot slot machines, a 16 table poker room, 36 oversized table games and a 550 seat Bingo Park. The property’s restaurants include; the Valley’s only Ditka’s (founded by legendary NFL head coach Mike Ditka), Fatburger, Dunkin’ Donuts, Panda Express, Los Reyes de la Torta and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.