We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It surprisingly works” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chino Bandido

Chino Bandido
15414 N 19TH Ave Ste K, Mkjii, Phoenix, AZ 85023-4300 (Deer Valley)
(602) 375-3639
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Deer Valley
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It surprisingly works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place is awesome -- which is surprising because when someone explains "Caribbean, Mexican, and Chinese in the same items" as the theory behind this restaurant, I think you naturally are confused.

However... it all works. There's kind of a weird ordering system with forms but it's easy to figure out, the people that work there will help you. If you're new, they'll also let you taste most of the items, so you can figure out what to order. I love the jade chicken quesadilla and the jerk fried rice. The cookies are also not to be missed, especially the soft snickerdoodles!

I'd highly recommend you check this place out if you're in the Phoenix area - it's a unique restaurant with high-quality food that you can't get elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Carribean, Chinese & Mexican Food at this wonderful "dive"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sparse dining but five star comfort food from Jamaica, Asia and Mexico. The staff loves first timers and allow you to sample different dishes before you order. Ate there four times in 13 days and saw construction workers, medical workers, suits & ties and everything in between. Great food and staff!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mexican+Chinese = Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When I heard of this place I was skeptical. But then I went in and they explained the dishes and gave me samples to taste. And it was bloody great. Kung Pow chicken with jerk rice is a must try. And you get a cookie with each dish. Some sort of Mexican sugar cookie, I wish I could have gotten a 12 pack of those. 2-3 dishes are normally good for 2 people depending on how hungry you are. Great for take out/pick up when you don't want to sit at a Restaurant. Not much ambiance at the location so I would recommend a taking the food to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Chinese Mexican food? Say what??? Awesome food, funky ordering system, and open seating. My favorite is the Manchaca burrito, Jade Red Chicken Quesadilla with black beans and fried rice. If you can, check out their website before you go, so you can get an idea of the ordering system. You might want to take a pen with you as well because sometimes people walk away with the ones supplied by the order forms located just inside the front door. The food is heavy, so if you are on a diet, this would definitely be a "cheat" day for you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Been eating here for almost 20 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's a local joint, it is the best food and consistency very good. I love their jade red chicken and veggie quesadilla. Definitely make this a stop if you are in the area for lunch or dinner!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Bandido also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chino Bandido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chino Bandido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.