We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck & Decanter

Duck & Decanter
1651 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016-3901
602-274-5429
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,562 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner, Delicatessen, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing place, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Duck several times and it seems to get better every time! I come for great sandwiches and Sam is the best behind the counter. She makes a sandwich heavenly! Making my way to the back, Bob serves up one of the best pints of Smithwicks beer around and the wine selection is amazing. I make my way outside and enjoy the amazing variety of live music the Duck brings in. From a jazz duo to one guy, a guitar and a bunch of great music, this is the place to enjoy great food, drink and the best atmosphere around! I can't wait to return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    22
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Deli in Phoenix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Every town has its hallmark deli that has been there for years and all of the local’s love it. For Phoenix, it is the Duck and Decanter. The Camelback location is the original store and dates back to the 70’s or earlier. I ate here when I was a college student 30+ years ago and stop by whenever we’re in town. Literally every square inch of real estate on all sides has been replaced over time with high-rises, but the original Duck is still there under the big, shady tree with the outside tables. Excellent brown-bag lunch fare with a very wide, eclectic selection of choices. You won’t be disappointed. Very generous portions and excellent quality. Expect some chaos and a long line at high noon. The place is a local lunch favorite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"The Duck" is a legend for Phoenicians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This place has been a locals favorite haunt since the early 70's. This place is a rare gem by today's standards. The quality of the staff, ambiance, food and prices are outstanding. Don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great picnic source”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

wide selection of goodies for eating "in" or putting together varied picnic foods. Pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good food served with warm, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been a fan of "The Duck" for over 10 years, and recently tried their Chicken Curry sandwich, with spinach, champagne mustard, red onions, crushed walnuts, tomato, cheddar, on multi-grain bread.

Dine outside much of the year under some amazing trees, in an outside area that is set way in the back of a huge parking lot, well away from Camelback Rd, and bring your dog if you wish!

Now I'm hooked, and this is about the only thing I crave here at the duck. Some of the people who run this place, owners as well as staffers, have been here for over 30 years, and that's a great reflection of management that takes care of their people.

They must treat them nice, because they stay, and they treat their customers well, too.

Fresh-brewed ever-changing variety of teas to choose from, usually 2 flavors each day.

Love their 90-cent beverage refill program, bring your own cup, stop wasting styro cups and save a buck, and everyone wins.

You can always count on a great experience, simple, tasty and fresh pickles--wow--did I mention how much I love their pickles!

Yay. Go Duck, Go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck & Decanter also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Duck & Decanter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck & Decanter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.