We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Phoenix!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana - Phoenix

Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana - Phoenix
705 N. First Street, Suite 120, Phoenix, AZ 85004
+1 602-795-2555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,574 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Best Pizza in Phoenix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here tonight, and we were very impressed. Everything from the Peroni on tap, the Bruschetta, the Margherita Pizza, and the Panna Cotta were delicious. The owner even brought out some awesome homemade Cinnamon Liquor for us to try after the meal. We will certainly be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This Italian likes it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Credere questo visitatore italiano a Pomo è. Autentico, selezioni genuini e gustosi da veri chef italiani! E la pizza è come mangiare a Napoli!

English version: Believe this Italian visitor at Pomo's. Authentic, genuine and tasty selections by real Italian chefs! And the pizza is like eating in Naples! Worth your time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza and Excellent Service! A++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the best pizza that I have had in a while and I am used to having great pizza in NY. This is real authentic neopolitan pizza that is so fresh and with so much flavor. The panini was excellent as well. The crust and sauce is fantastic. I never finish my food and both my mother and I left nothing on our plates. Just too yummy to leave anything! The owner is really great, friendly and treats his customers very well as does the rest of the staff. Matteo was so nice to provide us some complimentary limoncello w/ cinnamon and some really cool fried dough that was so light and delicious. Overall, highly recommended and we will be back! You can not pass this up and location is very convenient!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Giving Chris Bianco a run for his money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife now prefers this to Pizzeria Bianco. We sat at the pizza bar and watched Manuel, an artist with the dough, prepare the pizzas. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, some of the best pizza I have ever had. Highly recommended and a great addition to downtown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New location, same wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been going to Pomo in Scottsdale for about three years now and finally got a chance to try the Phoenix location. From our house in South Scottsdale it took about the same amount of time (15 minutes) to get there by taking the 202 to 7th street and heading south to Roosevelt and then over to 1st street. Parking at metered spots is free after 5 during the week and all day on weekends. You should be able to find a spot on the surrounding streets within a block. We went on a Sunday around 5:30 and found a spot right in front.
When we walked in we saw Amber and she recognized us right away as customers from Scottsdale and was glad that we made the trip in to try the new location. The new space still has the great wall-sized picture of Naples staring at you as you walk in and the famous wood-burning oven. Seating choices range from tables, chairs at the bar, a couple of chairs by the pizza area so you can watch them create the pizzas, a side room with a beer bar that has seats inside and outside, and a misted patio area. We enjoy sitting at the bar so we can interact with the staff and watch everything that's going on. Amber pointed out that there were new choices on both the food and wine menus. She offered us a taste of some of the new wines to help us make our choice, all of which were quite enjoyable. The food was outstanding as always so Pomo hasn't missed a beat with this move in location. While we were sitting there Mateo, one of the owners, came in and greeted us asking how our trip to Italy was. As it turned out, Mateo was leaving the same day as we were for his trip to Italy. Stefano, another of the owners, helped us plan our trip by inviting us to come in one afternoon and actually assisted us in making a day-to-day itinerary for our travels throughout Italy. This was obviously something that he didn't have to do as we are just customers, but he was so caught up in our excitement about the trip that he wanted to make sure it was special. This goes to show you that his commitment to his customers goes beyond just serving you great food. We look forward to many more great meals and good times with the Pomo family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana - Phoenix also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana - Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana - Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.