We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Condesa Gourmet Taco Shop

La Condesa Gourmet Taco Shop
1919 N 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85006
602-254-6330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 2,594 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
phoenix, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place rates right up there with other taco stands as far as quality and taste go .
A little pricier than most but still a good value . A little loud at the lunch rush but you will only be there foe 30 minutes . Nice salsa variety .
We were served on plastic / paper plates with plastic utensils and cups .
That just says lazy to me .
I love nothing more to be served traditional Mexican food and when they bring it out they say ,
"Watch Out ! These plates are HOT !! "
Traditional , this place is not . It is more suited to Gringos in a hurry but try it out .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lago Vista, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“SO AMAZING!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is incredible, honestly the neighborhood seemed sketchy, but you walk through that big wooden door and you feel like you are in Mexico on holiday! The service was great, the salsa bar is incredible with so many different varieties to choose from. I had the street tacos, so delicious! The place is small, so you've got to come in and find a spot and be ready for great food! The artwork is beautiful, just a really cool place! I wish it was in Austin, Texas :( Would go back for sure if ever in Phoenix area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Don't be fooled by what appears from the outside to be a grimy hole in the wall. Authentic fare, excellent prices, good service. Particularly impressed with the dogfish and cactus (really!) tacos.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oh my god.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

So much deliciousness. I got the chicken mole taco and the carne asada taco . . . the mole was the best mole I've ever had in my life. I love the salsa bar that allows you to customize your taco a little. Delicious, cheap eats can be found here. I wasn't wild about the house salsa that comes to your table with chips but who cares when you can get any of the 20 choice salsas at the salsa bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Super Gourmet Taco's That are Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This totally hip restaurant in Phoenix needs it name changed on Trip Advisor. The new name is
La Santisima Gourmet Taco Shop. I've eaten plenty of taco's in Mexico and these are extra super
fabulous and divine. The menu is mesmerizing. I will go there every time I am in Phoenix to try something new from their menu. The interior of La Santisima is small and beautifully designed.
The Paintings on the walls are contemporary Day of the Dead themes and masterfully done by two distinctive Mexican artists. Don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Condesa Gourmet Taco Shop also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Condesa Gourmet Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Condesa Gourmet Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.