We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fresh Greek cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greekfest

Greekfest
1940 E Camelback Rd Ste 107, Phoenix, AZ 85016-4130 (Camelback East)
(602) 265-2990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greekfest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 2,426 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: N 20th Street
Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful fresh Greek cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We celebrated a family reunion and couldn't have chosen a better restaurant! The pita was so light and tasty. The humus plate was mouth-watering good, and those are just the appetizers! All the entrees are homemade works of art from scratch. Our evening was a great experience!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very authentic atmosphere, food disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Music and interior made us feel we were back in Greece. It was so fun sitting there. But the food was not like what we've tasted in Greece or what is cooked by a Greek relative. It could be the owner was from an island we've never visited and that region's cooking is different. But the Greek salad had tasteless, pale hard tomatoes and blase salad dressing instead of real olive oil. Gyro meat was dissapointinly thin slices of ground meat without much taste, unlike typical lamb and oregano flavor in other Greek restaurants' ground gyro meat or Greece's real slices of oregano lamb. The baklava's phyllo sheets were lumped together in a soggy crust on the bottom and spices that tasted medicinal. Fun lunch, not sorry we went, but disappointing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Touch of Greece in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have been going to Greekfest for over 20 years and have only had wonderful, incredible evenings. Food is outstanding. I am amazed that Tony & Susan can do this by themsleves and consistently serve some of the best greek dishes we have ever had! Susan even finds time to personally visit each table! The wait staff is wonderful and they enjoy being part of the team and your evening's experience! This is a definite plus! Calamari and Saganaki are a must! If Lamb shanks are one of the specials, definitely try this! We will return!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food Anywhere in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I've eaten here many times over the course of 4 years. It's my favorite place to eat in Phoenix. The food is absolutely fabulous -- although I hate to say it, it's much better even than the food we ate in Greece! Don't miss the calamari -- it is truly memorable.

The owners and staff are all very attentive. The high level of personal and knowledgeable service that they provide is very rare.

The surroundings are very comfortable and lovely, and it's quieter than most restaurants today.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ena Kallo Estiatorio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Not only were the staff & owners warm and welcoming, but the food was exceptional! We are always on the lookout for opportunities to enjoy the healthy Mediterranean diet when we travel. Skeptical as we were (Greeks in the desert?), Greekfest far exceeded our expectations for a fine meal. The atmosphere was charming, and we were immediately no longer strangers once we stepped inside. Although the wine we chose was not available, a fabulous alternate Hellenic vintage was suggested, and enjoyed. Try the Koulourakia (traditional Greek cookies) with your coffee, and take some home with you.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greekfest also viewed

 

Been to Greekfest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greekfest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.