We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but great sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaihana Sushi and Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akaihana Sushi and Grill
8041 N Black Canyon Hwy Ste 112, Phoenix, AZ 85021-4876 (North Mountain)
(602) 864-9202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #289 of 2,561 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hard to find but great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mr Sushi has changed it's name to Akai Hana, and it is fantastic. We came in just as they were ready to close after lunch, and still they graciously welcomed us, which made their break before dinner short for them. I had the sashimi lunch, one companion had the Mrs Sushi lunch box, another had the bento lunch box, and the fourth person had the tempura lunch. It was all wonderful. The tempura was crisp, and everything was fresh and tasty. The staff was accommodating and gracious. To top it off the price was very reasonable. I heartily recommend this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
835 helpful votes 835 helpful votes
“Steady and good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is not the best sushi in town but it is darn good. I have been going there since 1993 and always enjoy my sushi. They have altered the recipes a bit over time but nothing too major. The spicy tuna hand roll is the signature dish as far as I am concerned. They pack it full and you get your moneys worth. I also very much enjoy the albacore sushi. They put garlic sauce on top to make it so good.

The prices are very realistic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Casual. Great sushi. The 3 rolls ordered were much larger than most rolls. Great value. Unexpected. Some of the appetizers were different. Very good overall.



    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

When I moved to Phoenix about seven years ago I stayed in a long term hotel close to the restaurant for six months and visited many times. We like sushi and have enjoyed it in many states. We purchased a home in the west valley and continued to go to the restaurant even with a 30 min. drive. A couple of years ago they built another restaurant named AKAI HANA in Goodyear ten minutes from the house. Now we go once a week. The sushi is always fresh and the rice is cooked just right. Over the last couple of years sushi restaurants have come and gone in the west valley. We have tried them all and always go back to AHAI HANA.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

I went for an early dinner on weekday. Not busy at all ate at sushI bar. Didn't get whati asked for exactly, buti haven't run into a sushi that I didn't like so long as ingredients are high quality and fresh. I tried salmon roe. Great flavor. If you want to know about quality at any sushi place order the smoked salmon sushi. Thats my fave =)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaihana Sushi and Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Akaihana Sushi and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaihana Sushi and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.