We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food for great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christo's ristorante

Christo's ristorante
6327 N 7th St, Phoenix, AZ 85014-1551
602-264-1784
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 2,568 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“good food for great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Finally made it to this neighborhood Italian restaurant and were shocked at how low the prices were for lunch. For less than $10 you get a full plate of pasta with chicken, shrimp, calamari, or meatballs - and it comes with soup or salad. Their seafood specials for today were salmon or halibut, flown in fresh daily, for $12 and $14. Appetizers were also quite cheap.

That said, the food was a bit disappointing. The crab-stuffed mushrooms (appetizers) were stuffed with the fake Krab stuff and breading, but cooked to perfection and swimming in a delicious garlic butter sauce. The warm, crusty bread is good, and even better dipped in the garlic butter.

The eggplant parmigiana was excellent. It was sliced a bit thicker than usual, so you actually tasted eggplant and not just the crispy breading. Lots of yummy cheese and red sauce.

The spaghetti was overcooked and the marinara sauce was too sweet. Yes, I know real Italian red sauce has sugar, but this was too much.

Nice wine list that wasn't marked up extravagantly. And nice ambiance with nice table linens and real flowers on each table. Good service, even during the busy lunch hour.

We will give this place another chance, try a few more menu items, and hope this place becomes a "keeper." With these kinds of prices for Italian food in such a nice setting, we really hope it does.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
University Park, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the owners of the ZenYard Guest House, where we stayed. We could walk there and it was great. The food was delicious, possibly the best of our vacation, and the prices were even better. The service was friendly and cheerful. Very enjoyable dinner all around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Authentic Traditional Italian Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A cousin has lived in the in the Phoenix/Scottsdale/Mesa areas for decades. When I told him I liked Ossobucco he said we're going to Christos. You could tell it was an older, well-established Italian restaurant with the traditional white table cloths and well-dressed waitstaff. Our server was attentive and professional. He took our drink order, came back for our appetizer order, then bread, soup, salad, entrees. All the meal courses arrived in a timely manner.

I was glad to see the house redwine list included a chianti (nothing worse than going to a supposedly authentic Italian restaurant and not find any chianti available by the glass). They serve bread, soup and salad with their entrees. Besides the house special Ossobucco, we ordered the chicken Genovese and Chilean sea bass. All of us really enjoy our selections. Their linguine was perfectly cooked, tender yet al dente.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starbuck, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love real Italian food, and this was excellent.

4 courses: Spinach Soup, Caprese Salad, Chicken Saltimbuca, Tiramisu. Another in our group had a perfectly prepared halibut with a light caper sauce, that was also just right - not at all overcooked!

White tablecloths, excellent service, sparkling clean restroom.

If we lived in Phoenix, this would be a regular stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tried and True”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Christo's has been around seemingly forever (more a reflection on the nature of Phoenix eateries than anything else) and has a devoted following that leans toward the mature crowd -- a group that knows value when they see it. The restaurant has succeeded in a difficult market in a somewhat inauspicious location simply because it delivers fine food at reasonable prices in a friendly and companionable but upscale atmosphere. The fare has been described as Italian, but I tend to think of it more as Southern European: the namesake chef and owner is Greek and the dishes combine the best elements of Mediterranean food. Portions are generous, drinks and wines are all you could ask for, and deserts are splendid.

The restaurant is family-owned, and if you happen to be stranded in mid-town Phoenix without the wheels to motor to Christo's, you should check out its sister restaurant Alexi's. located a mile west and a few miles south on Central Avenue -- also a sure-fire crown pleaser.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christo's ristorante also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Christo's ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christo's ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.