We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner served until 10pm, very nice and family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Grille

Phoenix City Grille
5816 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)
(602) 266-3001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoenix City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,571 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Phoenix City Grille is a central Phoenix institution, having opened in 1997. Nestled in the heart of the Madison neighborhood at 16th street and Bethany Home Road, Phoenix City Grille was built in the style of the old town tavern. It's a comfortable place for meeting friends where you can count on delicious food at reasonable prices. Whether gathering with friends for happy happy hour, meeting clients for a business lunch, treating your special someone to a romantic dinner, or entertaining larger groups in our private dining room,Phoenix City Grille is a great destination. Find out why people from all over the valley visit this cozy neighborhood tavern. Join us today at Phoenix City Grille. If you are interested in booking parties larger than 20 people, please call us directly.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner served until 10pm, very nice and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant while looking for dinner at 9pm on Friday night. Amazingly the place was not busy and the food very tasty and not too expensive. The appetizer plate was very small and did not make a meal (as they do in some places), so order a side salad or the eqgplant crisps. The shredded beef chili relleno is most nice, for sure have one, it is not too spicy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Glad you stopped in for a late night dinner...Glad we were able to provide a nice experience for you.

Please stop back in and join us again when you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was in town for business and based on the Trip Advisor App and reviews, I drove about 10 miles to this restaurant for dinner. I wasn't really hungry so I ordered 2 items from the "small bites" section.

The hummus was the best I have every eaten! It was enough for 4 people, but I hate half of it! I also ordered the beef/chicken grilled skewers. The flavor was amazing! I wish I had time to eat their more than once. The food was off the charts! Great service and quiet, low light atmosphere; very relaxing place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Candie,

Thanks for visiting us on your recent trip to Phoenix. We're thrilled you had such a nice experience. If you ever come back to Phoenix, please stop in again and say hello.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have dined at the Phoenix City Grille many times, and although the menu has been tweaked over the years, it remains one of our favorites. The planked salmon is always delicious; the griddled corn cakes are always yummy. However, there is no house salad on the menu, although it is listed in combination with other items, and my husband still misses the pot roast--short ribs are NOT the same.
If you are looking for a very good meal in a quiet and civilized setting (and gratefully not a cell phone in sight) with attentive and prompt service, the Phoenix City Grille is a wonderfully reliable choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Owner at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
JARPhx,

Thanks so much for the generous review. Our menu is always a work in progress and we are always trying to improve it and give our customers what they tell us they want.

We'll pass along to the chef the Pot Roast note.

Thanks for dining with us over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best dining in Phoenix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best neighborhood restaurant by far! The restaurant has an intimate ambience, warm and friendly staff, fabulous owners. Menu selection is eclectic and everything I've ever had is delicious. Also a lovely wine selection. A favorite spot for business and leisure meetings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Arizona Girl 56,

WOW. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You understand what we are trying to be, a warm friendly place that serves delicious food and serves as a comfort spot for the neighborhood.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Been there for happy hour, now wanted to try dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Couples night with my cousin, and we decided that this restaurant would be the perfect midpoint for dinner. I have not been to the Grille in about 5 years. The first time was happy hour drinks and appetizers and I remember the apps were awesome. So, we tried the dinner. I ordered a pasta dinner which was awesome! My husband had short ribs, my cousin had bbq ribs and her spouse ordered cedar plank salmon. My cousin had to return her ribs because they were extremely dry. My husband's ribs looked beautifully but had no flavor - he still ate them all. The salmon dish must have been good because it disappeared as well. I had a mojito drink that was delicious. My cousin ordered the same and her drink tasted totally different than mine - she returned it as well. One thing that I can say, is that the waitress was prompt, polite, dealt with the returns as well as our humor very well. She looked all of 21 years old. The restaurant was nice enough to comp us 2 free desserts because of the returns. The desserts were absolutely delicious, fattening, and both disappeared between the four of us. So , the four stars due to the return of a dinner and a drink, but technically, could be 5 stars because of service and wanting you to come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Diane,
We're sorry that you had to return a dinner and drink, but happy that it all seemed to work out and you had a pleasant experience.

Thanks for thinking of us but please don't take 5 years to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix City Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.