We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Grille

Phoenix City Grille
5816 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)
(602) 266-3001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoenix City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,564 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Phoenix City Grille is a central Phoenix institution, having opened in 1997. Nestled in the heart of the Madison neighborhood at 16th street and Bethany Home Road, Phoenix City Grille was built in the style of the old town tavern. It's a comfortable place for meeting friends where you can count on delicious food at reasonable prices. Whether gathering with friends for happy happy hour, meeting clients for a business lunch, treating your special someone to a romantic dinner, or entertaining larger groups in our private dining room,Phoenix City Grille is a great destination. Find out why people from all over the valley visit this cozy neighborhood tavern. Join us today at Phoenix City Grille. If you are interested in booking parties larger than 20 people, please call us directly.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

First time i had lunch at this restaurant but definitely not the last.
Great food for people of all ages. All staff was great from boss boy to sever to the manager.
Jose the manager I believe was his name was great with taking care of the customers.
This has by far been one of the nicest dinning experiences I've encountered in my last years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Well we're sure glad your visit was the first of what we hope will be many. Thanks for the very kind words, they are always appreciated. We'll make sure Jose sees this so he know what a good job he did for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    62
    31
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found this place by accident... we had been looking for a hot dog place... haha. This was a welcome surprise... The service was excellent and they aim to please. The desert was excellent.. chocolate torte with vanilla gelato... mmm.... will come again the next time we're in Phoenix.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Well we're glad you didn't find that Hot Dog place and found us instead.

We're glad you enjoyed your meal and your experience with us.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“4 3/4 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food was top notch, we ate every bite of everything that was put in front of us. I had the Hummus app, the house salad with a perfectly tangy basil-dijon dressing, and a small portion of the pot-roast (and still left feeling like I had eaten Willy Wonka's factory). My dining companion had the chile-taco app, the butter leaf lettuce salad and the ribeye.
Now, the food was excellent, the presentation was excellent, the service was extremely friendly - and the only thing I can think of which would keep it from being a perfect score was the server was a bit too busy. That's not to say she ignored us ... SHE DIDN'T ... it's just that she was clearly busy, so our drink glasses were allowed to run out, and the time between courses was a but longer than one might expect in a restaurant of this quality. No reflection on her, she was lovely, but more on management, who might be advised to ensure that there are adequate servers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks you for your wonderful review of your visit to Phoenix City Grille. We're glad that you enjoyed your meal and the service...

We'll take your comments about the number of servers into consideration. Sometimes we may be a little busier than expected. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have been loyal customers of the Phoenix City Grill and bar on 16th. Street and Bethany Home Rd in Phoenix, AZ for years.
Whenever we go out with friends, we are always sure that everyone will love it....and they do.
Even our past governor Rose Mofford has a reserved table for her once a week visit.
Great ample, gluten free menue of steaks, seafood, chicken, delicious burgers and sandwhiches and salads.
Open 7 days a week, even a Sunday brunch.
We have by now tried just about everything on the menue....from the Cedar Planked Salmon (always fresh) with citrus, marinated roasted beet salad (ask for their daily fresh market fish) to the number one requested 16th Street Beef Pot Roast smothered with a delicious Bourbon Sauce and Horsredish Mashed Potatoes, the Rose Lane Chicken to their Spicy Black Bean Soup and Corn bread....Not to forget the Bacon Wrapped Shrimp..yummy.
The atmospere is very relaxing, service is great with a big variety of wines and drinks.
Since they take reservations, even a group or a family will like it.
Heidi

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Heidi,

Thank you so much for wonderful review of Phoenix City Grille. We couldn't ask for a better review from one of our long time customers...

We appreciate your patronage and on-going support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious three course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Started with the Hummus, and fried eggplant, then the seabass with citrus special seasoning with breaded asparagus, wnd finally the butter scotch cake dessert.
It was a satisfying Saturday dinner out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your evening out with us. Hope you have a chance to join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix City Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona

Been to Phoenix City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.