We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Grille

Phoenix City Grille
5816 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)
(602) 266-3001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoenix City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: Phoenix City Grille is a central Phoenix institution, having opened in 1997. Nestled in the heart of the Madison neighborhood at 16th street and Bethany Home Road, Phoenix City Grille was built in the style of the old town tavern. It's a comfortable place for meeting friends where you can count on delicious food at reasonable prices. Whether gathering with friends for happy happy hour, meeting clients for a business lunch, treating your special someone to a romantic dinner, or entertaining larger groups in our private dining room,Phoenix City Grille is a great destination. Find out why people from all over the valley visit this cozy neighborhood tavern. Join us today at Phoenix City Grille. If you are interested in booking parties larger than 20 people, please call us directly.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found this place by accident... we had been looking for a hot dog place... haha. This was a welcome surprise... The service was excellent and they aim to please. The desert was excellent.. chocolate torte with vanilla gelato... mmm.... will come again the next time we're in Phoenix.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Well we're glad you didn't find that Hot Dog place and found us instead.

We're glad you enjoyed your meal and your experience with us.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
“4 3/4 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food was top notch, we ate every bite of everything that was put in front of us. I had the Hummus app, the house salad with a perfectly tangy basil-dijon dressing, and a small portion of the pot-roast (and still left feeling like I had eaten Willy Wonka's factory). My dining companion had the chile-taco app, the butter leaf lettuce salad and the ribeye.
Now, the food was excellent, the presentation was excellent, the service was extremely friendly - and the only thing I can think of which would keep it from being a perfect score was the server was a bit too busy. That's not to say she ignored us ... SHE DIDN'T ... it's just that she was clearly busy, so our drink glasses were allowed to run out, and the time between courses was a but longer than one might expect in a restaurant of this quality. No reflection on her, she was lovely, but more on management, who might be advised to ensure that there are adequate servers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks you for your wonderful review of your visit to Phoenix City Grille. We're glad that you enjoyed your meal and the service...

We'll take your comments about the number of servers into consideration. Sometimes we may be a little busier than expected. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have been loyal customers of the Phoenix City Grill and bar on 16th. Street and Bethany Home Rd in Phoenix, AZ for years.
Whenever we go out with friends, we are always sure that everyone will love it....and they do.
Even our past governor Rose Mofford has a reserved table for her once a week visit.
Great ample, gluten free menue of steaks, seafood, chicken, delicious burgers and sandwhiches and salads.
Open 7 days a week, even a Sunday brunch.
We have by now tried just about everything on the menue....from the Cedar Planked Salmon (always fresh) with citrus, marinated roasted beet salad (ask for their daily fresh market fish) to the number one requested 16th Street Beef Pot Roast smothered with a delicious Bourbon Sauce and Horsredish Mashed Potatoes, the Rose Lane Chicken to their Spicy Black Bean Soup and Corn bread....Not to forget the Bacon Wrapped Shrimp..yummy.
The atmospere is very relaxing, service is great with a big variety of wines and drinks.
Since they take reservations, even a group or a family will like it.
Heidi

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Heidi,

Thank you so much for wonderful review of Phoenix City Grille. We couldn't ask for a better review from one of our long time customers...

We appreciate your patronage and on-going support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious three course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Started with the Hummus, and fried eggplant, then the seabass with citrus special seasoning with breaded asparagus, wnd finally the butter scotch cake dessert.
It was a satisfying Saturday dinner out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your evening out with us. Hope you have a chance to join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Happenstance, What A Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Last night, by happenstance, we ended up dining at the “Phoenix City Grill”. We changed our original dinner plans from “Caves & Ives” because the restaurant recently reopened under new management and changed their menu. A true believer in fate, our choice was determined by my husband who earlier in the day had watched “Check Please” and they had given “Phoenix City Grill” three thumbs up. The food looked so good we had to give it a try.

Once we decided to change our restaurant venue, I called for a reservation. At first we thought we would have to wait an hour, but when we got there they were extremely accommodating and found us a table right away. From all the restaurants I have visited in the Phoenix/Scottsdale over the years, this is by far one of the best.

We started off the evening with drinks. I ordered a chocolate martini, which was made to perfection. Two others at the table also ordered martinis and were very happy with their selection. Next, we ordered two appetizers, the PCG Hummus, which was off the charts, unbelievably good, and the crispy eggplant bites, which were also excellent. For our entrees, I ordered the Almond Crusted Tilapia, as did another member of our party, it was incredible. My husband ordered the 16th Street Beef Pot Roast, which he said we also very good. The final member of our party ordered the Original Grilled Corn Cakes, which she said was excellent. Finally, we shared deserts, my husband and I ordered the cheesecake, which was very good. The other party had the warm chocolate torte, which they loved.

All in all we had a great dining experience. I would highly recommended “Phoenix City Grill” to anyone visiting the Phoenix area or, if local and looking for a great place for dinner, this is the place to go. The prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is warm and inviting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Phoenix City Grille, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Azallie,

We are thrilled you found us...by what ever circumstance. By the looks of your review, you hit on many of our customer's favorites.

Thank you for providing such a nice review and recommendations for our restaurant. We hope that you have a chance to come back and try some of our other dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix City Grille also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.