We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Burros In The Known Universe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Bravo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Bravo
8338 N 7th St, Phoenix, AZ 85020-3441 (North Mountain)
602-943-9753
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 2,594 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Burros In The Known Universe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've been going to El Bravo for close to 30 years now. We liked them so much, we got them to cater our wedding. Their best menu items are their burritos and their tamales. They make their own tortillas, so yummy they can be eaten all by themselves. I would eat there every day if I could . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Local Gem with Magical Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

El Bravo is a local restaurant famed for its chicken green corn tamales with chili sauce -- they are fantastic and merit a trip on their own merits. The other staples are quite good too (e.g., chile rellenos, huevos rancheros, etc.), but the green corn chicken tamales are simply legendary. The flan is also quite excellent, when it's available. I also like the cheese crisp ole as a starter; it's like a thin crust pizza (using a baked tortilla) with tomatoes, chorizo, and jalapenos. The staff is always warm and friendly; the founding owner, Mrs. Tafoya, will sometimes be found working in the chicken or chatting with customers. When in Phoenix, I make a point of coming here at least once (and often more than once). To be clear, this isn't a fancy place; if you require an extensive wine list or a linen napkin, El Bravo isn't for you. If you're looking for authentic, honest Southwestern food, however, this is the place to visit in Phoenix/Scottsdale.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Green Chile in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great little family owned mexican food place that has real mexican food prepared from family recipes. Everything is fresh and consistent in quality and flavor. I have tried everything on the menu and keep coming back for more. You really should visit el Bravo

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MIghty fine green chile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I used to make sure and always book on Southwest Airlines so I could enjoy El Bravo at the airport before leaving Phoenix - it's that good. Green chile burros are my favorite!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After all of the good reviews I had to see for myself while on a trip to the Valley. I had a late lunch at another place so wasn't too terribly hungry so asked the waiter what he recommended. He made several suggestions and noted that the Chicken Corn Tamale is their most popular item. I ordered it along with a side of rice. It was wonderful. They provide the standard two hot sauce choices (green and red). I used both and they too were terrific. I'm definitely going back next time in town so that I can sample other things on the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bravo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to El Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.