We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steady neighborhood Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruffino Italian Cuisine

Ruffino Italian Cuisine
4902 E. Warner Road, Ste. 7, Phoenix, AZ 85044-3316 (Ahwatukee Foothills)
480-893-8544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ahwatukee Foothills
Description: Ruffino Italian Cuisine is an upscale Italian restaurant in Ahwatukee, recognized for the past 25 years as a neighborhood destination for gathering with family and friends. The restaurant, recently remodeled, features an Old World Tuscan atmosphere with a piano bar at one end and a semi-private dining area at the other. At Ruffino you will find great food, unique, world-class service and a variety of weekly live entertainment options. Only the freshest ingredients are used and all of the pastas are homemade daily, plus the restaurant has an extensive list of wine and liquors. Happy Hour is offered Mon.-Fri. 3-7 p.m. Saturday 4-7pm and Sunday 4-close. Dinner is served seven days per week. Call for more information or to make a reservation today!
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
563 reviews 563 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
923 helpful votes 923 helpful votes
“Steady neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have eaten here for well over 17 years and find the staff attitude, food and atmosphere to be very nice. It is well above average food. I am partial to the Chicken Picata. If you get there early the bar is a nice place to enjoy a drink.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Reliable Continental Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We go to Ruffino's every once in a while, usually only on special occasions. We decided to go on the Saturday night before Valentine's Day, hoping to beat the Tuesday crowds. Luckily we made reservations, the maitre d' led us to the only empty table in the place.

They've remodeled since last we went, and the place isn't quite as dark as it used to be. It tends to attract an older crowd and the live band was playing a lot of 60's standards. The menu and service are very old school. Traditional appetizers, salads, pasta and meat dishes are well represented. We ordered some wine, split a salad, my wife had the pesto gnocci and I ordered the night's special oso buco.

The service suffered a bit on this busy night. The food was slow in coming and the salad was overly drenched in dressing. The entrees were done to perfection, however, and I really have very little to complain about. With a shared dessert the dinner for bill came to about $100, a little steep for the attention we received but it was something of a busy night/special occasion.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent neighborhood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Food is good, ambience is excellent, nice entertainment on weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“intimate seating, nice selection, reasonable prices, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have dined here several times-the food is always delicious and presented very nicely. Ruffino's has a nice selection of Italian dishes, chicken, veal etc.,along with appetizers and a nice little wine list. The setting is very cozy with low lighting and elegant table settings. There is a lively bar and there are 2 separate small dining rooms with the inside carpeting-drapes-tables all having been renovated fairly recently with new hands-on ownership. The Wait-staff never rush you but are always attentive. The prices are very reasonable. The entrees come with a salad which is mixed and served fresh by your table along with garlic bread. I had the Lasagna and my partner had a Chicken and Canneloni combo served with a side of green beans/carrots. I passed on dessert -but they have quite a selection which they present on a tray to show you. In the past I have enjoyed their Chicken Marsala and Veal dishes quite a bit. They also have several daily specials. This is also a good 'Special Occasion' restaurant for all ages-very relaxing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent neighborhood retreat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Ruffino's has been a mainstay throughout the Ahwatukee community for nearly two decades. I have been continually impressed by the owner, who greets everyone and who makes sure patrons are satisfied with both the food and service. He is an absolute gem. This eatery serves custom food unlike the chain restaurants that ship in frozen food, ready to thaw in a microwave. I strongly encourage anyone who wants an enjoyable experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruffino Italian Cuisine also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ruffino Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruffino Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.