We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'amore

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
L'amore
3159 E Lincoln Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)
(602) 381-3159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'amore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,571 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 32nd Street
Transit: City buses are available.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You'll Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Like most restaurants in the Phoenix area, this one is also past of a strip mall, Albeit a high-end strip mall, in a spectacularly beautiful neighborhood. I have been here for lunch and for dinner, for business and for pleasure. The staff are always friendly, the owner and his wife greet you either at the door or at your table. Live music, a wonderful outdoor dining area is fantastic during the non-summer months. The food is consistent and very good. We have had the beef carpaccio and the shrimp scampi appetizers and both were very good. The Capellini Al Pomodor is fantastic as is the Spaghetti Bolognese. The coffee was fresh and the Lemoncello cake is unbelievable. We have been back several times, never disappointed. (Price=$$$)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Italian Food and love the happy hour menu too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just love the food and the ambience and the stafff at L'Amore; for a quick snack they have an inexpensive happy hour menu (just love the $5. personal pizza!) and the dinner menu leaves you full and wanting more! Merveillioso ! : - )

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The best Italian food in Phoenix so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We moved to Phoenix about six months ago and have eaten lunch out every day since. So far we have only repeated eating at the same place a handful of times and this is one of those places.

It all starts with a wonderfully welcoming greeting from the staff...including the owner whose last name is Rose (sorry I forgot his first name). We only eat lunch so cannot comment on the dinner menu. However, if the dinners are even equal to the lunch choices it's worth a visit. They start out by serving a basket of hot and very crusty bread and butter...as good as we have ever eaten:-)

The next thing which stood out was their willingness to customize or tweak each meal choice. My wife prefers romaine lettuce in her salads...no problem. She also prefers her vegetables on the well done side due to a digestive problem...done! I didn't see Veal Saltimbocca on the lunch menu...I asked about it and they simply said no problem. We didn't see a Chardonnay we were familiar with and so I described our favorites. The server suggested one by Fess Parker...which was far from the most expensive on their list and it was perfect. Luncheon portions are a bit on the small side, but the quality, flavors, and prices balance that all out....and did I mention the bread!!!

As I said, we made a pledge when we arrived to try our best not to repeat eating at any restaurant unless it really was special. So far L'Amore is in our top five list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We keep going back, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This restaurant, in a small shopping center, is a hidden gem, excellent food, service. Everytime we are in Phoenix or Scottsdale we go here, the owner remembers us every time and make you feel extremely welcome. This restaurant has the feel of a neighborhood gathering place for both drinks and cuisine which we love, no big corporation establishment. The food is excellent I really like the ceasar salad, all the pasta is also very good and the veal superb. I had the eggplant last time and what a treat, lightly sauced with an excellent tomato sauce which was well balanced, just enough cheese, not smothered with a greasy poor quality cheese. Servings are large, prices on wines are very fair. Go for a leisurely dinner and do not hurry, have a delightful time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not to be missed !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We can't stay away from this place. when ever we are on town it is a must stop for dinner at least once and more if we have the time. The service is always friendly and the owner Greg makes you feel welcome every time. One of the favorite dishes this time around was the Eggplant Lasagne done to perfection. Their bread is wonderful and goes with everything. I have had the gnocchi on other nights but selected the Fettuccine Alfredo last week and it was delicious. This is a great place to meet with friends and family...a very neighborhood feeling. We will be back !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'amore also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to L'amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'amore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.