We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, A Little Overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flavors of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Flavors of India
4523 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016-5303 (Camelback East)
602-277-5546
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #545 of 2,605 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, A Little Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is one of those strip-mall restaurants that looks somewhat drab on the outside but is completely different on the inside. As they say, never judge a book by its cover.

Inside it's clean and tidy with spacious booths and tables. They also don't try to seat solo diners at some wretched post-card sized table in a sad spot - this is a big plus as it shows that they care about the diners and not just filling tables.

There is a good choice of food, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian covering different styles and regions. It's a nice menu.

The staff were attentive and seem eager to offer suggestions and to discuss the differences between the various dishes and the way they cook them. This is particularly important if you have food allergies and sensitivities and unexpected ingredients often slip in where you least expect it.

A disappointment is that they charge extra for rice and it's a little overpriced for what it is. Charging extra is fine, but the amount seemed excessive.

The food was well prepared and tasty. It was what I ordered and expected. They'll spice it up or down as requested.

In all a pleasant experience and one to be repeated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“attentive service, good food, good decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A group of my friends was looking for a restaurant in this area to meet for a get-together. We were happy we chose this one. All of us, in varying degrees, have some experience with Indian food, and all of us were pleased with the dishes we ordered. Since we range from one who likes his food very spicy to one who likes to minimize the spice, we settled on "5" on a scale of 10, and everyone was satisfied. The service was attentive, helpful, and friendly without being intrusive. The decor is fairly simple and tasteful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Being an Indian i would definitely know what Indian food should taste like, and this one is no way near to the original, Young guy is the son of the actual owner (who is nice guy) is extremely ill-behaved, gravy we ordered was full of water and tasted like crap. First learn to talk decently with your own country men, later comes serving good food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This restaurant has a lot of choices of the classic indian dishes and more. I wanted to order a sampler so I can taste few dishes; unfortunately they dont offer such sampler which some indian restaurants I have been to do offer. I did make a suggestion to the waiter that they should add it to their menu. Besides that the place looks clean, well decorated. I ordered lamb korma, mango lassie, steamed rice and garlic nan. Everything tasted very good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere in particular
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

and excellent service. I ate here 8 times over two weeks I was visiting Phoenix.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of India also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Flavors of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavors of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.