We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my favorite meal in the whole world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TEXAZ Grill

TEXAZ Grill
6003 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016-1801 (Camelback East)
602-248-7827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,593 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Description: TEXAZ Grill is a long time Central Phoenix favorite for folks from all walks of life. This is one special place to dine on a superior steak prepared with great care. Take a look around TEXAZ Grill and you will see an amazing collection of unique decorations including historic signs, Texas memorabilia, vintage advertisements and a Juke Box full of 45’s by native born Texans.Although TEXAZ Grill is known for the famed Chicken Fried Steak so big you’ll have two meals, they also serve a wide range of fresh foods. Carefully cooked, high quality chicken, steak, shrimp, prime rib, pork chops and catfish populate the menu at TEXAZ Grill. The shrimp are #1 Mexicans - the best shrimp you can get. The delicious steaks are USDA Choice, perfectly aged and hand cut in house and you will know it on sight when you take your first bite. What you will not experience is the sticker shock like most steak houses. TEXAZ Grill gives a real bang for the buck.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This is my favorite meal in the whole world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I love chicken fried steak and this is the place for that meal.

The portions are huge. I can eat a ton and have never finished the entire plate of chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes.

The prime rib is also excellent as well.

We come for lunch and love the cheeseburger salad and they also have brunch on the weekends with a variety of egg dishes to chose from.

Great place for a a cocktail or a very cold beer.

I LOVE this place and eat here as often as I can.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
WW Paci,
Wow, looks like you really enjoy your visits with us. We can’t ask for anything else.

Thanks for making the trip all the way from Tempe, we appreciate the drive and know you have options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Meat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is where you head when your inner carnivore will not be denied. I had the chicken fried steak, served with gravy and mashed potatoes, and it was very tasty. I hadn't had chicken fried steak in 15 years because it's not the healthiest thing you can eat, but that's what this place does best...serve stuff you know isn't good for you, but you crave every now and then. My son had a filet that he loved and hubby had prime rib, which he gave a grade of "B". The atmosphere is Texas roadhouse, with lots of stuff on the walls and tables close together. I found it a bit claustrophobic and the restroomas were the smallest I've seen. Okay service, good food and very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Glorious Chicken Fried Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Awesome place in AZ that has a ton of personality. Mainly comfort food, the chicken fried steak is one of the best I have ever had and ridiculously huge to boot. The biscuits and coleslaw that came with were quite tasty as well. While not for the health conscious, definitely a place to go and have a good meal. On top of all this, our server was one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Chris,
We do love to think of ourselves as a destination for comfort food. Everyone deserves a treat from time to time and we’re happy to provide that.

Thanks for the recommendation, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“10 Texas thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband & our 3 girls headed back to Texas from the Grand Canyon just had to check this place out & see if it was the real deal! Great food, great service~ Texas Style all the way! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for swingin' by on your way home. Hope we gave the family a little taste of home while you were vacationing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG huge portions & tastes great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Husband and I got the chicken friend steak plate each , one with gravey & one without. So huge overfilled the plate and was very tasty! Waitress was Helena she just the sweetest & attentive waitress we have had in a long long time (was during pack lunch rush too!) Atmosphere fun & tons of decore to look at on the walls. We also shared the homeaid bread pudding, yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TG6003, Owner at TEXAZ Grill, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks Danita for taking time to share your thoughts on our Chicken Fried Steak. We think Helena is a sweetheart too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TEXAZ Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to TEXAZ Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TEXAZ Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.